INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

INDI/Linux driver for the QHY Polemaster, developers needed.

• Thank you received: 6
Hi Guys

I would like to get my QHY Polemaster camera to work on Linux, in order to use it with the new Polar Alignment Assistant in Ekos.
QHY currently dosn't provide a linux driver, nor do they support the Polemaster via their Linux SDK.

But Qiu Hongyun (QHY) has offered to provide their Low Level USB Protocol specifications, provided I/we sign an NDA.
Read more here: qhyccd.com/bbs/index.php?topic=5718.0 and here: qhyccd.com/bbs/index.php?topic=5602.0

Although I'm a professional Embedded Firmware developer, I currently have no experience in Linux device drivers, nor with the USB protocol.
So I would like to hear if there are anybody in this forum who would like to participate in developing a Linux INDI driver for the QHY Polemaster camera?

I know there are people out there in the same situation as me... who already own a QHY Polemaster, and who would like to use the hardware together with INDI/Ekos.

Best Regards
Anders Lange
Last edit: 7 years 1 month ago by Anders Lange.
7 years 1 month ago #14475

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I think you can use libusb for all communication with the camera. No need for kernel-level drivers. However, you must really have a good understand of how USB works. You can start with USB in a Nutshell and probably take a look at existing libusb drivers communicating with cameras. I think probably the best place is to look at how Linguider since it already communicates with QHY5/QHY6 camera via USB and the code is all there, so pick it as your starting point. Good luck!
Last edit: 7 years 1 month ago by Jasem Mutlaq.
7 years 1 month ago #14480

Hi jasem

Thanks a lot for your input. I also had been looking at bit at libusb!