INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

ZWO ASI 1600MM-COOL gain settings?

• Thank you received: 9
I recently purchased a ZWO ASI1600MM-COOL camera and have just now started trying to set it up with IND/Ekos. While the camera seems to connect and image just fine, I can't find any setting for adjusting the gain. Am I missing something?
6 years 11 months ago #16508

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I found a gain setting under the device options, but it doesn't look like this is settable in the imaging tab in Ekos. I also did not find any settings value at all for offset. I am new to CCD's as I have been using my Canon DSLR prior to this so I am very open to the fact that I could be just missing something.
6 years 11 months ago #16514

• Thank you received: 11
I use the ASI1600MM-COOL also. You can set the desired Gain/Gamma/Offset/Bit-Rate under the Control tab in the Indi control panel for the camera. Make sure you Save the changes under the Options tab. In the Ekos control panel you then simply choose your exposure time and you're good to go.

FWIW: I use the ZWO Unity setting of 139 Gain, 50 Gamma and 21 Offset. If you need to focus quickly increase the Gain to >300 to allow faster capture. Don't forget to reset to 139 when you're ready to capture you lights, darks, bias and flats. (Don't be tempted to reduce the Offset otherwise all sorts of blacking clipping occurs).

To determine your best exposure for any given filter, object and seeing condition you will need to evaluate the histogram in some test images to ensure you don't clip blacks or whites.

Also, when deciding on the cooling set point keep within 30-35 degree points below ambient temperature and stick to it. I run set at -10 degrees which is around 34 degrees below ambient in my location.

Capture Bias at 0.001