INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

1000D and Serial Cable

• Thank you received: 2
Hello.

I am new to INDI / EKOS / kstars :cheer:

I own a Canon EOS 1000D. I am currently on Kubuntu 14.04.

The Canon EOS 1000D does not has a chip that can handle the USB Mirror lock-up.

I tried on windows before and I managed to use the Mirror lock-up like this:

I plug the USB camera
I also plug the serial cable.

I light EOS utility.
I light a software to capture as "FOCUS" or "GUIDMASTER" via the serial cable.

This way the software automatically downloads the catch on the computer and I can use the Mirror lock-up by turning on the DSLR.

Linux in KStars I can not find how to turn the Mirror lock-up and take screenshots with the serial cable.
In addition when I try to then start the fashion "liveview" I have a black screen and impossible to disable the screen without breaking the DSLR.

sorry for my english I'm a little rusty.
Thanks for your help
8 years 8 months ago #4635

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 1

Replied by Marko T. on topic 1000D and Serial Cable

Hi and welcome to the community :)

I too am using a 1000D with Kstars/Ekos/Indi so I'll try to help you out a bit. In order to get the latest updates, you should update to at least Ubuntu 14.10 as mentioned here TOPIC: HOWTO: Building latest libindi & Ekos . I'm running Ubuntu MATE 15.04 with the latest kstars/Ekos/indi updates.
I assume that by "serial cable" you mean the remote shutter cable.

First of all, Ekos/Indi does not have a mirror lock-up function (hopefully sometime in the future ;) ). So turn it off from the camera, otherwise you'll run in to problems.
Secondly, I've personally had no need for live view since Ekos contains a good focus tool under the CCD tab once the driver is loaded and the camera is connected. I can test the live view later today once I get back home.