Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
20 Aug 2017
INDI development team is happy to announce the release of INDI Library v1.5.0. This new exciting release builds on the maturity of INDI Library and comes with many new supported devices and fixes for existing drivers.
Read More...

TOPIC: KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released!

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 23 hours ago #19556

Um. . .thats different?! is it just the skymap? Or is there any other part of the program that is affected? I have been using KStars now on multiple Macs since I first got it to compile about a year ago. And I have built it multiple ways and edited the code many times and it has never done that! Not even when I was editing the graphics of the skymap to try to track down that pesky little bug that was sometimes putting a thin black horizontal line across the middle of the screen. You might see if you can get the problem to repeat itself and find the conditions under which it does so. Also, it might help to run KStars from the terminal to see if any errors print out when you do it. And it might be good to take a lot at a log file to see if anything gets logged

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 23 hours ago #19557

  • Poison
  • Poison's Avatar
  • Away
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello Oleg,

I changed the language to default and all works well. So I'll guess the German language file is buggy?

Oliver

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last Edit: by Poison.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 23 hours ago #19558

I cannot replicate your error.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 23 hours ago #19559

  • oleg
  • oleg's Avatar
  • Away
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Ubuntu Astronomy
  • Posts: 268
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 76
rlancaste,

look at the attached picture:
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

You can try my open project Ubuntu Astronomy
Last Edit: by oleg.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 23 hours ago #19562

Poison,

Go into the KStars Preferences, the advanced tab, and make sure "Verbose" is selected. Then you can either set it to log the output to a file, or you can just leave it set to "Default" and run it from the terminal by typing this into Terminal and hitting enter: /Applications/kstars.app/Contents/MacOS/kstars. Either way you will get the error messages if they occur.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 22 hours ago #19564

  • Poison
  • Poison's Avatar
  • Away
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi rlancastle,

I've attached the logs.
And I switched my macOS language to English, same behaviour.

All the best,
Oliver
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 20 hours ago #19593

Try turning off HIPS and see if that makes the problem stop. The HIPS setting is in the toolbar. Just set it to "none." The log is full of entries that say that the HIPS source is not available.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 17 hours ago #19606

  • nmac
  • nmac's Avatar
  • Away
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 46
Yes It does stop the problem, at least on mine, KStars 2.8.3 just tested on MBP Mid 2009 with Sierra 10.12.5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

(PT) SC@ROS Observatory
RPi3 / Explore Scientific ES80480 / Canon 550D / ESFF 2" / ASI120MM / Arduino Moonlite DC Clone- HEQ5 Pro
RPi2 / Orion 120ST / Atik 420m / WOIII / SSAG - Arduino Moonlite DC Clone - LXD75
www.flickr.com/photos/139335144@N03/

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 17 hours ago #19608

Ok, so nmac, you observed the same issue? Was that with a language other than the default set? And it is also with the HIPS turned on?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 17 hours ago #19609

Here's a question, which hips image set do you have selected?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 9 hours ago #19611

  • nmac
  • nmac's Avatar
  • Away
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 46
Yes I have seen it too with all color sets, it seems random, specially switching between color set and zooming in and out.
When I start Kstars the screen is also trashed for a few seconds and the it turns normal.Maybe a graphics glitch?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

(PT) SC@ROS Observatory
RPi3 / Explore Scientific ES80480 / Canon 550D / ESFF 2" / ASI120MM / Arduino Moonlite DC Clone- HEQ5 Pro
RPi2 / Orion 120ST / Atik 420m / WOIII / SSAG - Arduino Moonlite DC Clone - LXD75
www.flickr.com/photos/139335144@N03/
Last Edit: by nmac.

KStars 2.8.3 "Tommy" is released! 1 month 9 hours ago #19614

Nmac,

The screenshot you posted looks more like what happens when hips hasnt fully downloaded all of its data yet. I saw that before I built up a hips cache. Now i rarely ever see that. But I think that issue is different from the one posted by poison.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.621 seconds

Login



3rd Party

Choose from the numerous 3rd party INDI drivers to suit your needs!

Got Problem?

Check out the FAQ, the forum, and the bug tracking system to resolve any issues you might have!
You can also subscribe to INDI newsletter and development mailing lists to get the latest updates on INDI!


Gallery

Replica

Why INDI

Replica