INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Guide Star Catalog with indi_simulator_ccd driver

• Thank you received: 1
Hello,

I am completely new to astro photography so I wanted to train myself by using the simulators via KStars and EKOS. In order to receive images from the simulator, I set my GSC up according this instructions. Unfortunately I get no results in KStars. The preview is noise and the error message is: "Got no stars, is gsc installed with appropriate environment variables set ??". There is a three years old item on the forum here that is marked as SOLVED. But it is with different linux and older GSC. I ran the commands that Thorsten showed in #849 and get the same results. It is working on the PI3 but not in EKOS.
Is there someone out there with the same setup (PI Jessie with GSC and Windows 10 KStars 2.8.3) who got this working? The log file only contains login and logout messages. The telescope is unparked and tracking in sidereal mode.

Thanks in advance

Bert
Windows 10 64-bit with remote access to Embedded Raspberry PI 3 with Ubuntu Mate 16.04.3 LTS and KStars 2.9.8, Skywatcher HEQ5 PRO, Robtics 80mm F7 doublet apochromaat refractor + CentralDS CDS-600DII
Last edit: 6 years 5 months ago by BJ Ruiterkamp.
6 years 6 months ago #19749

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

If you don't feel attached to Raspian, I say get Ubuntu Mate 16.04 for your RPI3 and then just install everything from the PPA, less headache.
6 years 6 months ago #19751

Ok so I found the problem. The error message is wrong, it didn't draw any stars not because gsc is missing, but because you didn't either start the telescope driver or connected it. I encountered the same issue today. I updated the error message to indicate the actual problem. Meanwhile, include the telescope simulator in your profile.
6 years 6 months ago #19811