INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Editing an existing driver

• Thank you received: 0
Hello,

My question is very simple, but I am a complete beginner to anything coding-related so I hope you can have patience with me.

My indi setup with astroberry is fully working with the exception of the Trutech filter wheel driver. By default it only supports five filter slots, whereas the filter wheel I have has eight slots.

I tried to edit the driver by downloading it via github.com/indilib/indi and simply changing the code so it sets the maximum number of slots to eight.

My problem now is I have no idea how to compile this .cpp file and turn it into a functioning replacement driver, if that is even possible at all. It has not been for lack of trying; I've been looking for a solution on the forums and the manual for several hours, but I haven't seen anything that I can understand. I tried to do the tutorials, but I ran into issues there as well.

If anyone could explain the process to me simply then I would be very grateful

Thank you
5 years 8 months ago #26889

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I can add a property to specify the maximum number of filters. But perhaps it is better to find if the filter can report this information back? I can't seem to locate the command set for the filter wheel as it was written over 10 years ago. If you can get the RS232 command set for the filter wheel, this would be great. Try to email Trutech or search for it.
5 years 8 months ago #26893

Hello,

This information doesn't seem to be publicly available. (On that note, the website that the TruTech Filter Wheel page on this website links to, www.trutek-uk.com/cwss/USB/ssu2.htm, is a 404.)

I have sent them an email.

In the meantime, I could test whether the driver responds to an increased number of filter slots, if you could show how to add the property?

Thank you