×

INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Ekos on Mac OS X ?

  • Posts: 2255
  • Thank you received: 223

Replied by Gonzothegreat on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Jamie could you please try:
cd /usr/local/lib/libexec
rm kauth
ln -s ../../Cellar/kf5-kauth/5.25.0/lib/libexec/kauth/ kauth

and then
brew install haraldf/kf5/kf5-knotifications
7 years 4 months ago #12541
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 2877
  • Thank you received: 812

Replied by Rob Lancaster on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Sounds great, I have been trying to come up with a new way to get the kstars main window to stay on the bottom that doesn't involve setting everything else to stay on top, because that's hacky. I just wish they had implemented either child widgets staying on top of their parent windows or the WindowStaysOnBottom flag in the OS X version of QT. To me that seems kind of important.
7 years 4 months ago #12542
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 2877
  • Thank you received: 812

Replied by Rob Lancaster on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?


ugh. That sucks
7 years 4 months ago #12543
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 211
  • Thank you received: 23

Replied by Jamie Smith on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?


Trying these now - question: Should this let the brew install haraldf/kf5/kf5-knotifications work? Like, should I just fix and retry that, or move on?
7 years 4 months ago #12544
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 2255
  • Thank you received: 223

Replied by Gonzothegreat on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?


it goes as this:
brew install haraldf/kf5/kf5-knotifications ---> BREAKS
apply fix
brew install haraldf/kf5/kf5-knotifications ---> WORKS
7 years 4 months ago #12545
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 2877
  • Thank you received: 812

Replied by Rob Lancaster on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?


Why didn't it break on mine yesterday?
Last edit: 7 years 4 months ago by Rob Lancaster.
7 years 4 months ago #12546
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 2255
  • Thank you received: 223

Replied by Gonzothegreat on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

It also did not break on mine yesterday (as far I as remember) and I do not know why. However we now know how to fix it ;)
7 years 4 months ago #12547
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 211
  • Thank you received: 23

Replied by Jamie Smith on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?


ok, thanks

a weird thing - for me, that /usr/local/lib/libexec/kauth is a directory, not a link. I just want to confirm - which was it for you?
7 years 4 months ago #12549
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 2255
  • Thank you received: 223

Replied by Gonzothegreat on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

it was a directory, remove it with rm -R
I might have to edit my steps... sorry.
Last edit: 7 years 4 months ago by Gonzothegreat.
7 years 4 months ago #12550
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 211
  • Thank you received: 23

Replied by Jamie Smith on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

no prob, just wanted to make sure :D
7 years 4 months ago #12551
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 211
  • Thank you received: 23

Replied by Jamie Smith on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

I got it working (well, at least the kf5 stuff - still need to try the cmake

The wackiness goes away if you do
mkdir -p /usr/local/lib/libexec

TL; DR

Did the cleanup:
$ >brew remove qt5
$ >brew uninstall `brew list -1 | grep '^kf5-'`
$ >rm -rf ~/Library/Caches/Homebrew/kf5-*
$ >brew untap haraldf/kf5
$ >ls /usr/local/Homebrew/Library/Taps
homebrew/	jamiesmith/

Then the steps (it is in a script, but this is what it did)
brew tap haraldf/kf5
# Note that I changed the sed separator so I only have to escape the quotes
sed -i '' "s@*args@\"-DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/Users/jamie/Qt5.7.0/5.7/clang_64/\", *args@g" *.rb
 
# Sample line from one of the files
Mine:      system "cmake", ".", "-DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/Users/jamie/Qt5.7.0/5.7/clang_64/", *args
Stephane's system "cmake", ".", "-DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/Users/stephanelucas/Qt5.7.0/5.7/clang_64/", *args
 
sed -i '' '/depends_on "qt5"/,/^/d' *.rb

and for good measure I saw that /usr/local/lib/libexec wasn't even there now.
Then ran
brew install haraldf/kf5/kf5-kcoreaddons
brew install haraldf/kf5/kf5-kauth
which both worked. After them there was a kauth dir in /usr/local/lib/libexec.

BUT- here is where it gets really weird-
$ >cd /usr/local/lib/libexec
$ >pwd
/usr/local/lib/libexec
$ >/bin/pwd
/usr/local/lib/libexec
 
Ok.  
 
$ >ls -lF
total 0
drwxr-xr-x  3 jamie  admin  102 Nov 21 18:34 kauth/
 
$ >ls -lF ../../
total 20
-rw-r--r--  1 jamie  admin    476 Nov 21 18:34 INSTALL_RECEIPT.json
-rw-r--r--  1 jamie  admin   1423 Aug  7 09:34 README.md
drwxr-xr-x  3 jamie  admin    102 Nov 21 18:34 etc/
drwxr-xr-x  3 jamie  admin    102 Nov 21 18:34 include/
-rw-r--r--  1 jamie  admin  10010 Nov 21 18:34 install_manifest.txt
drwxr-xr-x  8 jamie  admin    272 Nov 21 18:34 lib/
drwxr-xr-x  3 jamie  admin    102 Nov 21 18:34 mkspecs/
drwxr-xr-x  4 jamie  admin    136 Nov 21 18:34 share/
 
OK, why isn't there a Cellar there?  
 
$ >cd ../../
$ >pwd
/usr/local
$ >/bin/pwd
/usr/local
 
SO- if I do an ls here what will be there?  Should be what is in the ls ../.. Right? So no Cellar?  
$ >ls -l
total 0
drwxrwxr-x   64 jamie  admin   2176 Nov 21 18:34 Cellar/
drwxrwxr-x    3 jamie  admin    102 Nov 20 17:21 Frameworks/
drwxrwxr-x   16 jamie  admin    544 Nov 20 17:16 Homebrew/
drwxrwxr-x  844 jamie  admin  28696 Nov 21 18:34 bin/
drwxrwxr-x   12 jamie  admin    408 Nov 21 15:34 etc/
drwxrwxr-x   78 jamie  admin   2652 Nov 21 18:34 include/
drwxrwxr-x  320 jamie  admin  10880 Nov 21 18:34 lib/
drwxrwxr-x   64 jamie  admin   2176 Nov 21 18:34 opt/
drwxrwxr-x    2 jamie  admin     68 Nov 20 17:16 sbin/
drwxrwxr-x   38 jamie  admin   1292 Nov 21 18:34 share/
drwxrwxr-x    6 jamie  admin    204 Nov 21 10:02 var/
 
Not even close to the same.  Bash is so weird.
open a terminal and use tcsh instead of bash and you will see what directory you are really in.

I think that two things are making links - and not soft ones. Hard links suck.

I (now) don't think that the rm & link are needed - instead, before doing the steps, do :
mkdir -p /usr/local/lib/libexec

I ran in to a problem with the kf5-crash, so I installed that too. Had to do it before notification.

I am adding this to the build script:
function installPatchedKf5Stuff
{
 
    if [ -d ~/Qt/5.7/clang_64 ]
    then
    	export SUBSTITUTE=~/Qt/5.7/clang_64
    elif [ -d ~/Qt5.7.0/5.7/clang_64 ]
    then
    	export SUBSTITUTE=~/Qt5.7.0/5.7/clang_64
    else
        echo "Cannot figure out where QT is."
        exit 9
    fi
 
    brew tap haraldf/kf5
 
    cd $(brew --repo haraldf/homebrew-kf5)
 
    echo $SUBSTITUTE
    count=$(cat *.rb | grep -c CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH)
    if [ $count -le 1 ]
    then
        echo "Hacking kf5 Files"
        sed -i '' "s@*args@\"-DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=${SUBSTITUTE}\", *args@g" *.rb
        sed -i '' '/depends_on "qt5"/,/^/d' *.rb
    else
        echo "kf5 Files already hacked, er, patched, skipping"
    fi
 
    brew link --force gettext
    mkdir -p /usr/local/lib/libexec
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-kcoreaddons
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-kauth
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-kcrash
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-knotifications
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-kplotting
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-kxmlgui
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-kdoctools
    brewInstallIfNeeded haraldf/kf5/kf5-knewstuff
 
    cd - > /dev/null
}

and will call it from the existing brew install chunk.

Trying a cmake build on my fast machine now, but out of time (today is my anniversary).
7 years 4 months ago #12552
The topic has been locked.
  • Posts: 2877
  • Thank you received: 812

Replied by Rob Lancaster on topic Ekos on Mac OS X ?

Happy Anniversary!!!

You guys did great work on this. I thought it was going to be simpler, but I guess there were some complications. I am still no closer to solving the window on bottom bug in qt. For now my solution I put in place a month ago with using QT Tool Windows and using Window Always on top Flags will probably have to do, even though it does have some problems. It is better than the alternative.
7 years 4 months ago #12553
The topic has been locked.
Time to create page: 0.340 seconds