Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
08 Apr 2018
INDI development team is happy to announce the release of INDI Library v1.7.0. This new exciting release builds on the maturity of INDI Library and comes with many new supported devices and fixes for existing drivers.
Read More...
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: Hitech Astro DC focuser problem

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20782

  • Moogman
  • Moogman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi,

I'm having a problem with the Hitech Astro DC focuser from Ekos / Indi.
Setup is rpi running kstars/ekos/indi or rpi remote indi server depending on how I'm set up.
It connects no problem however, it intermittently moves the focuser when pressing in / out buttons from Indi control panel or via joystick control. It might move it once or twice then fails to move it thereafter. Also there is quite a lag between pressing the button and the focuser actually moving.
I also noticed that I can't change the value in the relative position tab - it's stuck on 100 with a red or yellow indicator.
Would be handy to get this fixed as it's invaluable for auto focus.

Connecting via windows and using the supplied utility works fine.

Log file attached:


Thanks - Martin
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last Edit: by Moogman. Reason: Adding log file

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20802

  • Moogman
  • Moogman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
After a bit of testing it seems to be on the RPi that the problem exists.
Running it off my Kubuntu desktop it seems to respond correctly (relative position count changes in indi control panel when focusing in or out).

RPI is running Ubuntu MATE.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20805

  • pch
  • pch's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 65
  • Thank you received: 37
I use a Usb_focus, not a Hitech but I get a similar problem on a slow computer.

For me the problem is the driver pooling the device too frequently, this make some random error with wrong position reading and sometime the focuser moving far from the requested position.
I solved the problem by increasing the value of POLLMS from 250 to 1000 in usbfocusv3.cpp, making the position to refresh only every seconds.

In hitecastrodcfocuser.cpp the value of POLLMS is 100. Maybe increasing this value can also help you.
The following user(s) said Thank You: knro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last Edit: by pch.

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20814

Thanks! I changed them both to 500ms.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Moogman

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20816

  • Moogman
  • Moogman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
Great thanks - I'll give it test when it's ready for update

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20839

  • Moogman
  • Moogman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi,

I can't seem to find the updated driver for the focuser.
sudo apt-get update then install doesn't seem to have any new versions available.
(I can't use the s/w updater from MATE on rpi as it complains about lack of disk space)

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20880

  • Moogman
  • Moogman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
Having almost given up running this from the rpi I've rebuild my desktop to run as the Indi server with Kstars and Ekos.
All running well apart from (you guessed it) the Hitec DC focuser. The driver crashes when started.

I've attached the log file.

Thanks in advance.

Martin
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20881

Hi there,
You can get rid off all older versions of downloaded packages with command : sudo apt-get autoclean to free up some space.

Br
/Markku

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 5 months 1 week ago #20882

I found and fixed the issue, please update tomorrow and check.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 4 months 3 weeks ago #21374

  • Moogman
  • Moogman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi Jaseem, I guess the update hasn't worked it's way through yet as I haven't seen a fixed driver yet.
I have a workaround for now (on Kubuntu 16.04) which entailed deleting the config file and editing the default config and loading that manually each time I start INDI.

Thanks - Martin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 4 months 3 weeks ago #21377

No the fix made it long ago, are you sure you're using the latest stuff from the PPA?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Hitech Astro DC focuser problem 4 months 3 weeks ago #21378

  • Moogman
  • Moogman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
Yes I believe so.

Did the usual sudo apt-get update, sudo apt-get-upgrade but nothing seemed to change

I did notice this while searching GitHub in relation to the hitecastro build - not sure if it's relevant.

master Do not call saveAllConfigItem(..) and handle case where all CONFIG_PROCESS switches are off

Commit a6fc9ad
Compare e30aac2..a6fc9ad
Branch master

JM Jasem Mutlaq avatar Jasem Mutlaq authored and committed


#1499 errored
Ran for 35 min 21 sec
Total time 1 hr 40 min 38 sec
17 days ago

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Time to create page: 0.172 seconds

Login



3rd Party

Choose from the numerous 3rd party INDI drivers to suit your needs!

Got Problem?

Check out the FAQ, the forum, and the bug tracking system to resolve any issues you might have!
You can also subscribe to INDI newsletter and development mailing lists to get the latest updates on INDI!


Gallery

Replica

Why INDI

Replica