Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
20 Aug 2017
INDI development team is happy to announce the release of INDI Library v1.5.0. This new exciting release builds on the maturity of INDI Library and comes with many new supported devices and fixes for existing drivers.
Read More...
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: Flip-Flat general questions

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19361

  • xsnrg
  • xsnrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 13
Hi all, I am getting tired of messing around with flats and darks manually on an otherwise automated system. I see that the Flip-Flat system is supported, so was hoping that those that use one with INDi/Ekos could chime in on your thoughts on it.

First and most importantly, how well does it work?

Would you do it again/recommend it?

How difficult is it to get set up?

Any problems with light bleed through it or on edges for doing darks with the backlight turned off?

Thanks for any feedback

Jim

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19365

It works pretty well without any issues. Mechanically you just have to mount it really careful to make sure it is dust-tight. The problem is that last time I checked, they stopped making it!
The following user(s) said Thank You: xsnrg

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19366

  • xsnrg
  • xsnrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 13
It seems to still be available, though not inexpensive:

www.optecinc.com/astronomy/catalog/alnitak/flipflat.htm

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19368

Great! Go for it! I had no issues doing completely automated flats with Ekos.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19378

  • xsnrg
  • xsnrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 13

knro wrote: Great! Go for it! .


Okay. Done :whistle: Should ship soon. Very much looking forward to it. Dust sucks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19467

  • xsnrg
  • xsnrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 13
Flip-Flat received. Installed, Plugged in. USB port dance complete. Online. It works!

Just a couple observations and questions.

It appears to do what it needs to do to take flats, which is very cool. If the light is not on, it is turned on automatically, for example. I am playing around now the auto-dark, full darks, and more flats without manually going to INDI to make any changes. It does seem to control the ADU by exposure length only. I have the panel set to 60 right now, and to meet my ADU, the exposure time is changed around, but the brightness seems to stay put at 60. Is there any provision for changing the brightness automatically? It probably isn't necessary, this is just a question for curiousity.

One thing that might be nice to change or fix is - it does not open the cover when you switch to Lights. I tried a sequence in of 5 flats at 15k ADU, 5 darks at 45s (it turned the light off), and 5 Lights. The Flats and Darks were fine, but the Lights did not open the cover. Is there ever a reason to take a Light frame and not open the cover?

Going the other way, cover open, put Lights in sequence and then flats, and the cover closes automatically when it gets to flats.

I ran into a problem periodically where it would get a NAN error and basically hang the captures in an endless loop. I turned on logging in the camera module, but that doesn't seem to have much in it. What other logs would I need to turn on for this? I attached the ASI log.

2017-09-15T23:45:37 Capturing image...
2017-09-15T23:45:37 Current ADU is nan Next exposure is nan seconds.
2017-09-15T23:45:09 Capturing image...

One other nice thing to add is in the Calibration screen, the settings for the type of flat device and the ADU are not saved.

Overall, it is working great for me right out of the box though. I have a new set of flats without having to touch anything, and they are the best flats I have had to date.

Nice work!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19487

The capture module now indeed does not open the flip flat, so just make sure that your calibration frames are run last for now.

Not sure about NAN value, can you share a flat field frame you captured?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 1 week ago #19493

  • xsnrg
  • xsnrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 13
link to the last flat before things went sideways: drive.google.com/open?id=0B4I8UcuosfBHVlNfLU4zTGl6dGM

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 6 days ago #19544

  • xsnrg
  • xsnrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 13

knro wrote: The capture module now indeed does not open the flip flat, so just make sure that your calibration frames are run last for now.


Fair enough. If it is easy to persist the settings for type of flat device and ADU setting, that would be a welcome change.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 6 days ago #19545

It is persistent if you save the sequence queue.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 6 days ago #19552

  • xsnrg
  • xsnrg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 124
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 13
So it saves it across an imaging session, but when you restart, it is gone and has to be set up again. In my use case, I am on a tripod without a dome, so I take my setup offline a lot. My request was based on my camera not changing (it would use the same ADU to get a flat no matter what filter might be used), and since it uses the flip-flat, I will always check the radio button for "dust cover with built in flat light" across all setups and sessions that use this scope. I realize my usage is different than an observatory where things would remain running all the time though.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last Edit: by xsnrg.

Flip-Flat general questions 2 months 5 days ago #19613

Ok, settings are saved now.
The following user(s) said Thank You: xsnrg

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Time to create page: 0.612 seconds

Login



3rd Party

Choose from the numerous 3rd party INDI drivers to suit your needs!

Got Problem?

Check out the FAQ, the forum, and the bug tracking system to resolve any issues you might have!
You can also subscribe to INDI newsletter and development mailing lists to get the latest updates on INDI!


Gallery

Replica

Why INDI

Replica