INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

problems with guiding

• Thank you received: 2
Hi,

I am still new to Kstars/Ekos. I was happy to successfully connect my mount and CCD to Ekos on Linux.
For quite a time now I am trying to make Ekos to work and I had no success so far. I found few online tutorials and docs but unfortunately most of them are outdated.
I have decided to write here, maybe somebody could guide me or point me to proper resources.

So I have Celestron Nextstar mount with ZWO CCD. I am able to move mount left and right via ekos and I am able to get a preview from CCD. But that would be it.

Guiding.
In outdated videos and docs, I saw examples of capturing image, calibrating, selecting a star/planet and clicking guide, which just works.
First of all, I don't see any calibrate button/tab under the guide panel (maybe one of outdated features? or moved somewhere?)
When I capture image, select a star/planet, hit guide - i am getting slight mount movement for a second (usually away from selected point) and nothing happens - Image gets updated, star/planet goes away from the view, mount is not tracking, drift graph is not plotting any data.
I am also getting an impression that image in that view is much more zoomed in then in "live preview" and I am not sure what I can do to reset it.

I will appreciate any help!
Last edit: 5 years 11 months ago by Albert Szostkiewicz.
5 years 11 months ago #25256
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic problems with guiding

Hopefully I'll upload more videos after I fix my observatory's roof in the next few days. Calibration is now done automatically. Do you have Auto-Star selected in option or you're selecting the star manually yourself? It looks that whatever you selected in there (Jupiter?) is too large to fix in the guide box.
5 years 11 months ago #25260

• Thank you received: 160