INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Xagyl filter wheel

• Thank you received: 0

Xagyl filter wheel was created by Richard

I am new to INDI and am setting up my system for the first time. I have a SBIG ST10 with CFW8 filter wheel which I understand is supported, however I also have an 8 position Xagyl filter wheel that I would like to use (as it would let me have both LRBG filters as well as narrowband all loaded at the same time).

Is it currently possible to get the Xagyl filter wheel working under INDI ?
8 years 6 months ago #5500

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 21

Replied by Philippe on topic Xagyl filter wheel

First question: Is your Xagyl wheel is identified correctly within Linux when you plugin it on your USB port? could be check easy with 'dmesg' command on linux terminal.
Anyway, I've attached to this thread the user manual I've found on Xagylastro site of this wheel for V3.x. From the page 17 we could find the procol for (all ?) commands. Maybe someone could read it and say if another existing Indi driver already use the same protocol.

- Anybody knows it?

Otherwise it shouldn't be to much difficult to write the driver for it as this is a native text communication protocol, as far as I see in the document.
Best regards

Philippe
Philippe Besson
Skywatcher HEQ5, Televue 101-IS, Takahashi FS-60CB
Focus Boss II with OptecInc TCF-S focuser and Starlight Instruments HSM20 handy stepper motor
Guiding camera ZWO ASI120MM
Filterwheel OptecInc IFW
Camera not set yet
Switzerland
8 years 6 months ago #5502
Attachments:

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic Xagyl filter wheel

Can you connect to it via minicom? If you can, type in i8 and let me know if you get anything, it's suppose to return the maximum number of slots.
8 years 6 months ago #5504

• Thank you received: 46

Replied by Markku on topic Xagyl filter wheel

Hi forum..