INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Can’t connect to my mount

• Thank you received: 0
Hi,
I’m new to INDI trying to connect my Mac to my Orion Atlas EQ-G Goto mount.
Unfortunately I had no success so far.

My assumption:
I can connect via EQMod driver directly to the mount or I can use Orion Atlas driver to connect the the mount’s HC

HW in place:
Orion Atlas EQ-G Goto, PL-2303 USB-to-Serial Cable, Shoestring EQDIR

SW in place:
MacOS 10.13, CdC 4.0-3575, INDI Server 2.7.0 (1.7.0), Orion Atlas driver 1.0, EQMod 0.3, PL-2303 driver v1.6.1

HW (Mount, USB2Serial, EQDIR) seems to be OK, as I was able to connect via EQMac to the mount.

Connect attempt via EQMod Mount driver:
Failing very early as the driver shows a yellow status in the INDI server list. EQMod not showing up after hitting „Connect and get device list“ within CdC

Connect attempt via Orion Atlas driver:
Power up of the Mount —> Initialize & Align Mount via HC —> Activate PC Direct Mode in HC —> Connect Mac via USB2Serial and Orion Serial Cable to HC.
Now I get SynScan to select as telescope in CdC. Within INDI GUI the right port is selected /dev/cu.usbserial (also tried with /dev/tty.usbserial…) leaving all options default (for this post I increased debug information) and try to connect:

CONNECTION CONNECT=ON
[DEBUG] Connecting to /dev/cu.usbserial
[DEBUG] Port FD 7
[DEBUG] Connection successful, attempting handshake...
[INFO] Synscan Mount not responding
[DEBUG] Handshake failed.
[WARNING] Communication with /dev/cu.usbserial @ 9600 failed. Starting Auto Search...
[DEBUG] Trying connection to /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port @ 9600 ...
[DEBUG] Connecting to /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port
[DEBUG] Port FD 8
[DEBUG] Connection successful, attempting handshake...
[INFO] Synscan Mount not responding
[DEBUG] Handshake failed.

If I try to connect agin right away I now receive:

CONNECTION CONNECT=ON