INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Driver OnStep (LX200 like) for INDI

• Thank you received: 71
Hi,

I could work out some things but still far away from ready to go, and the nights are horribly short :)

for the limits Isince It try to stick to the lx200 generic I inherit some of the limitations (eg. 2 .. 8 for Slew Rate , OnStep is 1 .. 9, so I had to code a new routine.
The issue is I am not a programmer but a dummie !!!
I start to undersnd a bit how Indi works in the gears but dtill lost some times.

Todo list is a good idea:
- Parkink / UnParking / Setting
- Alignment 1, 2 3 star(s)
- logitude setting ( still a negative / positive issue between standard and OnStep
- Pec
- OnStep Satus (some return codes from OnStem are at least obsure :(
- Indi Telescope status vs OnStep way of managing
-
-
- feel free to add but please use the list format, it really easier

A propos did you ever use Kicad? if yes have a look on github.com/azwing/Kicad_OnStep

So now I go to sleep a bit (la nuit porte conseil ....)
6 years 2 months ago #22720

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 22
Sorry for my storytelling, I was editing on the fly during testing. I'll try to be more direct.
You've done quite well already, we'll figure things out. I'm sure Jasem is following as well, ready to help if we get stuck. I'm not a programmer either and Indi gets my head spinning sometimes, and yes, saving a bit of cpu in trade for the cryptic way Onstep handles serial command/response was also problematic for me during testing. It follows the lx200 protocol though with a few extra commands so we might get some ideas by looking at that file.

I think we should prioritize that list as well, with alignment and pec farther down and concentrate on the basic speed and goto controls.
- park unpark is now working well enough.
- unravel some status updates
- longitude is still weird