×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry

2 weeks 5 days ago
AradoSKYindi
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 72
More
Topic Author
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #42835
Hello,

I am seeking assistance with the Polar Aligment process within EKOS. I have a profile in EKOS setup with my equipment. GPSD is working fine and setups up the site to be searched. I dutifully open EKOS and pick polar alignment. I am pointed to Polaris. My tilt has Polaris in the cross hairs relatively speaking. This should be an easy setup.

Pass one gets a image from the QHY Polemaster. Pass 2 and 3 occur after a long time, 15 minutes. Solver has FAILED. After reviewing the logs, I see messages saying Astronmetry index files are missing. To me, this suggests that the area I am in and Astroberry are not in sync. KSTARS shows the correct coordinates for my area. GPSD is working. The first picture shows Polaris. So, what is up with Astrometry?

I went to the Astrometry site. I reviewed the files there and compared what I default had with Astroberry. All files looked similar. All were index files. Some were specific files. Astrometry files are dated 2013. Astroberry files are dated 2017. The specific error message files are there.

Question 1: What is the application for Astroberry PI to download and refresh Astrometry?

I have synaptic installed. I will see if I can refresh the installation. I do desire to get an automated Polar Alignment set up. Thank you for reading this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 5 days ago
Herrhausen
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 444
Karma: 2
More
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #42839
Astrometry image files can be downloaded from within Ekos directly. Go to the Align TAB, Options, Index Files. The Index files that you need depend on your field of view (FOV). Once the FOV is know, they are marked green. Just klick at the box in front of the index files and they will be downloaded. Normally, the index files reside in /home/USERNAME/.local/share/kstars/astrometry/ or alternatively in /usr/share/astrometry/
The following user(s) said Thank You pug916

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 2 days ago
AradoSKYindi
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 72
More
Topic Author
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43003
Hello,

Thank you for your reply. I sought and found two types. One is from Astrometry. The other is Stellermate. The files for Stellermate are Deb packages.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 2 days ago
AradoSKYindi
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 72
More
Topic Author
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43005
Hello,

Now, that I have found at least two Astrometry resources I can talk about an issue from last night. I have been fortunate to be receiving three straight clear nights to work under AstroBerry.

This is my setup. My OTA is an Orion 6” RC tied to an motorized Vixen GP mount. For visual guiding and alignment, I use a ZWO 120mm and a QHY PoleMaster. For mount controls, I use EQMod to run the AstroEQ. The tripod is a Vixen SGX mount with an 8” extension.

QHC PoleMaster software works under AstroBerry. The alignment is spot on. My reticle agrees with the celestial pole placement. My first object near my view is M31. Using mount control, I search, find, and GOTO to empty space.

I use GPSD with a DIY Mall device. KStars and Echos knows where the mount is located, elevation, and time.

The mount starts parked at the celestial pole. Why did I go to empty space and not M31? I tried EKOS and Astrometry three times.

My first time was using the ZWO. The image captured is grainy and out of focus. Bummer, I am supposed to use QHY. I stop the process and use the QHY. I begin the process again. The ZWO image is up. Why?

I wait 9 minutes for Astrometry to load image 1. With the Astrometry Imaged captured, Solver begins and ends with Solver timed out. Capturing begins again. With the ZWO image, no wonder, I thought. I have ZWO in a ZWO 60mm x 280 on top of my OTA. It needs to be focused first.

On the second attempt, the QHY image is shown. It is a beautiful image of Polaris. This should be easy. PoleMaster has done the heavy lifting. After three more sessions of this repeatable failure, I am now looking for solutions.

The missing Astrometry files were downloaded from Astrometry and copied into the appropriate folder under sudo. These are big files. They take a long time to load and the PI memory is on a budget. I am puzzled why it thinks it needs gargantuan solver files. The QHY can capture 1920 x 1280 images by default.

The PoleMaster software is not having problems. I need to check my logs to see if GPSD failed to see the device. Being in a different time slot can produce empty space.

The ZWO is a USB 3.0 device. My QHY5LII is under repair. The Raspberry PI 3 B+ is 2.0. ZWO’s grainy picture is USB 3.0 compatibility need given by USB 2.0. Not good.

In EKOS, I used 180’ x 180’ as my FOV. I live in the country on a ridge. Very few objects are in my way. Given my setup, I should not be pulling from 2’ x 3.8’ or the next arc second level above the smallest. Somehow, my setup is being honored.

I am left with two problems to solve.

GPSD and rules are tricky items to resolve. The USB Port assignment process is consistently different. It auto increments the assignment. I use a USB 7 port powered hub to support the 5 USB devices. What port did USB assign GPSD? I know rules can be conditionally automated. I will research getting USB to behave.

The other item is the Solver Timeout issue. EKOS, Astrometry, and Pi are not working together. The Solver shutdown is nearly instantaneous. The gap in the timeline is not precision enough to show a delta. This says out of memory to me. Loading a 400mb file to search is nothing trivial. Why such large files when I picked a large arc second level?

Thank you to the team working on this area of AstroBerry.



I have to start with the AstroEQ as the only device on the Hub. It must have RS232 access ASCM00 or ASCM01. All others are added after booting is complete.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 2 days ago 2 weeks 2 days ago by Copello.
Copello
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 48
Karma: 1
More
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43006
To make sure you USB GPS device always has symbolic name e.g.
/dev/ttyGPS
you can create an udev rule file e.g.
/usr/lib/udev/rules.d/99-indi_gps_gpsd.rules
with content
SUBSYSTEM=="tty", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1546", ATTRS{product}=="*u-blox*", SYMLINK+="ttyGPS",  MODE="0666"
Note this rule works with u-blox chips, once the USB GPS dongle is plugged in you should see
[  296.751463] usb 1-1.2: new full-speed USB device number 6 using ehci-pci
[  296.860921] usb 1-1.2: New USB device found, idVendor=1546, idProduct=01a8, bcdDevice= 3.01
[  296.860923] usb 1-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[  296.860925] usb 1-1.2: Product: u-blox GNSS receiver
[  296.860926] usb 1-1.2: Manufacturer: u-blox AG - www.u-blox.com
[  296.881337] cdc_acm 1-1.2:1.0: ttyACM0: USB ACM device
[  296.881897] usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_acm
[  296.881898] cdc_acm: USB Abstract Control Model driver for USB modems and ISDN adapters
indi@x230:~>ll /dev/ttyGPS 
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 7 Sep  6 15:21 /dev/ttyGPS -> ttyACM0

So your GPS device name persistently is
/dev/ttyGPS

Probably it would be a good idea to submit this rule also upstream to GITHUB.

Cheers
Thomas

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 2 days ago 2 weeks 1 day ago by AradoSKYindi.
AradoSKYindi
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 72
More
Topic Author
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43012
Hello Thomas,

Thank you for your input. As I stated, I am on a Raspberry PI 3 B+. The location of Rules.d is different on an RPI3B+. Also, exclusive rights the UART is demanded by devices needing RS232.

Instead of using ttyUSB, I used SYMLINK+="ttyS0" for one device and SYMLINK+="ttyS1". This is my workaround. Now, both devices are bound to ttyACM0 and ttyACM1. The next week is going to be rainy. I will not be able to test AstroBerry with this equipment. Both AstroEQ and U-Blox are happy. The other big item is GPSD. Apparently with the GPS device plugged in and not in clear path to a satellite, PPS and PPS1 take over tty ACM0. No matter what is in the Rule file, Kernel takes it over. Once the GPS finds a lock, PPS and PPS1 go away.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 1 day ago
Kaczorek
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 642
Karma: 6
More
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43025

AradoSKYindi wrote: In EKOS, I used 180’ x 180’ as my FOV.

What do you mean by that? You're supposed to set FOV manually. It is EKOS that calculates exact FOV based on you camera and telescope. I believe that this is the origin of you problems related to plate solving.
Your camera settings will be read from the camera, so no need to configure anything. Your telescope settings (apperture and focal length) need to be set either in EKOS (mount tab) or INDI panel (options in mount tab).
After you set it up correctly take a look at FOV displayed in the EKOS Align tab (the one you use for plate solving). Verify the value using FOV calculator e.g. astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/
If the values differ significantly you're not configuring your setup correctly.

--
Radek Kaczorek
Astroberry Server | NEQ6 | Atik 460EX | Atik EFW2 | ASI 120MM

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 23 hours ago
AradoSKYindi
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 72
More
Topic Author
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43043
Hello,

I gave EKOS plenty of opportunity to set FOV. It was blank. The field can be overwritten. I picked a larger size. The large size should yield a smaller fill to load. Thank you for the link. I used the calculator to estimate 89’ x 70. This is nearly a two times smaller FOV.

I am puzzled why it was pulling from 2’ x 3.8’ level. Loading >. 99 mb into the PI is long. The size is between 100mb and 450mb per zone.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

2 weeks 22 hours ago
Kaczorek
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 642
Karma: 6
More
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43045
Set the calculated FOV and you will be fine. Otherwise astrometry does blind solving. This takes lots of time

--
Radek Kaczorek
Astroberry Server | NEQ6 | Atik 460EX | Atik EFW2 | ASI 120MM

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 week 6 days ago
Ihoujin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 624
Karma: 3
More
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43080
The unsolved FOV that is calculated, the one you see if you mouse over the box of it only shows 0' X 0', uses the information entered on the mount tab. If that information is wrong, edits to it will not take effect until you use the save telescope information button. Doing so will update the calculated FOV. And a successful solve will automatically update it to the true value.

INDI/KStars on Raspberry Pi 3B+
Lubuntu 16.04
Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro Mount
Canon 600D Camera
Orion SSAG @280mm Guide Scope
PHD2
Adafruit Motor Hat shield
Adafruit GPS Module
Generic Bluetooth Joystick.
Startech 7 port powered USB Hub.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 week 4 days ago
AradoSKYindi
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 72
More
Topic Author
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43155
Hello,

Another clear night and I used PoleMaster and attempted Astrometry. I allow EKOS to determine the FOV, 88.4 x 70. This is same as the suggested site. Fantastic. After 6 passes of Solver failed, I quit using EKOS and Astrometry. The first image was never resolved.

I was looking at my configuration. GPSD was working. My Observation site was not configured for the session. My prefigured home site was selected. I then noticed the Clock time. My clock time said 1:30 PM. I my watch said 10:30 PM. Ok. Time mismatch issue. I corrected the time and retried.

I opened EKOS. A conflict occurred between PoleMaster and Indi Lib for QHY driver. I reset the USB and the PoleMaster was operational. I attempted EKOS Astrometry again after I realigned with PoleMaster. 6 attempts again with first image and no resolution. By this time, it was late. I packed it up.

I also discovered my RA motor was slipping.. The image returned was a beautiful shot of Polaris. Each failure was after 3 minutes exactly. Apparently, EKOS logging did not capture the Astrometry session. I am not done yet. I want this to work. Somehow, Astrometry is not seeing the image correctly. Or a parameter is not correctly set. All bands of FOV are installed. Getting the correct file is much faster with the calculated FOV.

Also, my GPSD is working very well. I keep wondering why, I have to set LOCALE and set system time when I move to use the device at night and isolated from the internet. System time should not drift hours. Ah. PI does not have a CMOS battery,.

Based a valid GPSD working device, Time Zone is based on Longitude and Latitude position. Why doesn't the GPSD play more of a role with Observation site. Based on LAT and LONG, KSTARS should know where it is. I can get tine from the GPS. But, I loose a precious R232 port to KERNEL (PPS and PPS1). EQMOD looks for some GPS to help it know where it is located. Finding the time way off got me questioning the process. Any delta time from local and not knowing where it is can hamper Astrometry.

Having an RA motor issue complicated Astrometry even more. I can solve the RA Motor. I built it. it is mine to fix. Next Clear night, I hope to have 1) the RA fixed and 2) procedures to establish LOCALE and Time upon boot up before trying Astrometry. PoleMaster is not dependent on GPSD and time. A working RA motor is all it needs. My mount is getting more heavy.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 week 4 days ago
Ihoujin
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 624
Karma: 3
More
Polar Alignment issue with EKOS and Astrometry #43158
GPSD knows your location, but itself can not determine time zone. To do so would require a very large lookup table. Time zone should be set in the system, and within KStars geographic location. Furthermore you need to setup the NTP daemon to use GPS directly as a time source for the system. It not a perfect arrangement however. Because NTP will not sync the time if it is more than 1000 seconds off the system time. To get around this you can install ntpdate. Run it with -h -g.
sudo ntpdate -g -h
That should tell it to run once (-h) , ignore 1000s limit (-g) and should update the system time to the GPS.
Setting up PPS is not required for any of this.

Also if you are still having issues platesolving, try increasing the exposure time as I have found better performance.

INDI/KStars on Raspberry Pi 3B+
Lubuntu 16.04
Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro Mount
Canon 600D Camera
Orion SSAG @280mm Guide Scope
PHD2
Adafruit Motor Hat shield
Adafruit GPS Module
Generic Bluetooth Joystick.
Startech 7 port powered USB Hub.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: Kaczorek
Time to create page: 0.844 seconds