×

INDI Library v1.9.4 Released (17 Jan 2022)

Bimonthly Stable INDI Library release introduces new drivers and fixes for existing ones. Some highlights:

Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

  • Posts: 971
  • Thank you received: 371
I don't use my Canon 6D very often so I cannot comment on this. I will test it in a spare time.
In the meantime maybe other users can share their experiences with focusing Canon DSLR with EKOS focuser module?
--
Radek Kaczorek
Astroberry Server | Orion CT8 | Askar FRA 400 | NEQ6 (hypermod) | Atik 460EX | ASI 1600 | ASI 120MM | Atik EFW2
1 year 8 months ago #53266

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 97
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by Lars on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

Hi,
I got a clear sky and could do some outdoor test.

Most of it worked very well, the problem was the focus as discussed earlier.

I have on my homepage write down the behaiver:
www.astrofriend.eu/astronomy/projects/pr...rs-raspberrypi4.html

It's seems that Ekos doesen't send a 'Live view' command to the camera when it's ordered to do a 'Auto focus' (the camera is needed to be in 'Live view' mode to acces the focus motor from remote). When I force it to 'Live view' direct on the camera it works, but it chrash very soon.

Any idea ?

/Lars
TS130 APO & 3" field flattener / Pentax 645 ED 300mm f/4 /Sigma APO 150 mm f/2.8
EQ6 mount / HEQ5 / Star Adventurer
Canon EOS 6D
Lot of patience

Homepage:
www.astrofriend.eu/
1 year 8 months ago #53537

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 97
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by Lars on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

No one here that have the Canon built in focuser motor to do auto focus without crashes ?

My camera is the Canon 6D.

This is how far I have come:
astrofriend.eu/astronomy/projects/projec...rs-raspberrypi4.html

/Lars
TS130 APO & 3" field flattener / Pentax 645 ED 300mm f/4 /Sigma APO 150 mm f/2.8
EQ6 mount / HEQ5 / Star Adventurer
Canon EOS 6D
Lot of patience

Homepage:
www.astrofriend.eu/
1 year 7 months ago #55641

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 783
  • Thank you received: 123

Replied by Alfred on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

Live View is being activated by clicking at the corresponding icon:

1 year 7 months ago #55737
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 783
  • Thank you received: 123

Replied by Alfred on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

BTW, I never got my camera to focus correctly when using a Canon lens. I activate Live View (no problem), click "focus in" and what happens is this: For a couple of seconds nothing happens at all, then I can hear the focus motor move for a fraction of a second, then several seconds of silence again before the focus motor again moves for a fraction of a second. This procedure continues for about 20s-30s and then stops. During these 20-30s the focus motor has moved about ca. 3x-5x. The log file says something like this:

[2020-06-18T00:19:25.800 CEST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[INFO] Starting the video stream with target exposure 0.100000 s (Max theoritical FPS 10) "
[2020-06-18T00:19:25.800 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting toggle widget viewfinder: 1 "
[2020-06-18T00:19:25.951 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:25.951 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Pixel format 100 is supported by SER recorder. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:25.951 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Pixel format 100 is supported by RAW encoder. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:42.836 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.focus] - Focus "outward" ( 2000 )
[2020-06-18T00:19:42.836 CEST INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.focus] - "Focusing outward by 2.000 steps..."
[2020-06-18T00:19:42.836 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "Focuser is moving 2000 steps outward... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:42.886 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:43.388 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:43.902 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:44.397 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:44.498 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:44.998 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:45.498 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:45.998 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:46.502 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:47.498 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:48.005 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:48.055 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:48.563 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:49.064 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:49.557 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:50.056 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:50.656 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:51.158 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:51.668 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:52.157 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:52.657 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:53.667 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:54.161 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:54.666 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:55.174 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:55.661 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:56.661 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:57.161 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:57.661 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:58.163 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:58.683 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:58.734 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:58.841 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:58.895 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:19:58.994 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:59.492 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:19:59.992 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:00.507 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:00.993 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:01.995 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:02.494 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:03.005 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:20:03.070 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:20:03.166 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:20:03.218 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:20:03.318 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:03.824 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:04.322 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:04.823 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:05.332 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:06.325 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Failed to set new configuration value (camera busy), retrying... "
[2020-06-18T00:20:06.844 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:20:06.882 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:20:06.992 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Canon DSLR EOS 5D Mark II : "[DEBUG] Setting new configuration OK. "
[2020-06-18T00:20:06.992 CEST DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.focus] - "Rel Focuser position changed by 2000 to 52000"

Obviously Ekos' focus routine doesn't work with my 5D Mk2/EF300(1:4) at all. However, focusing never crashed Ekos/KStars here.
Last edit: 1 year 7 months ago by Alfred.
1 year 7 months ago #55742

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 97
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by Lars on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

Hi Herr hausen,
Thanks for the answer, if I activate the liveview as you describe I can't do long exposures which I need when doing focus. If I activate liveview with the button on the camera I can do longexposures ( 5 seconds). But Indi driver crash then after a while.

But even better if I don't have to set the camera in liveview mode. But the Canon focus motor only rotate when in livemode. Maybe there are other settings to do focus without livemode that I have done incorrect ?

The liveview heat the camera and takes a lot of power, one big reason to not use liveview.

But how to control the focus motor that is built in the Canon lens without have the camera in livemode? Is it possible, or?

/Lars
TS130 APO & 3" field flattener / Pentax 645 ED 300mm f/4 /Sigma APO 150 mm f/2.8
EQ6 mount / HEQ5 / Star Adventurer
Canon EOS 6D
Lot of patience

Homepage:
www.astrofriend.eu/
1 year 7 months ago #55767

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 97
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by Lars on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

Now I'm on the 4th year with Raspberry, still not working.

I have the Raspberry Pi4 with 4GB RAM. My earlier problem with focusing I have put on pause, I now know that older Canon lenses can't operate in remote focus mode when set to manual on the lens.

The software is Astroberry 2.0.3. It solved a lot of my earlier problem, but still I can't get it to work.

Now my real problem is how to get EQMOD Mount to work. I bought a new mount, this time the HEQ5, my older EQ6 mount had a special gear ratio after timing belt modification and it wasn't possible to setup in the Indi version of EQMOD.

Now that problem is solved with the new mount.

The new problem is this: When I connect more devices the EQMOD Mount disconnect after a couples of minutes. It dosen't matter if it's connected direct to the RP or through the 10 ports powered HUB.

These are the devices:
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub, internal USB HUB
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 Serial (UART) IC, EQDIRECT Cable (Mount)
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 0bda:5411 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. external USB HUB
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0bda:5411 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. external USB HUB
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0461:0033 Primax Electronics, Ltd, USB-Focus
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 16c0:296d Van Ooijen Technische Informatica, QHY5 guide camera
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0bda:5411 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.  external USB HUB
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 2109:3431 VIA Labs, Inc. Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub, internal USB HUB

If I have only the EQMOD connected direct to the RP it works.

This is the error message:

22021-04-17T00:02:16: [WARNING] Port /dev/ttyACM0 is already used by another driver or process.
 
2021-04-17T00:01:33: [INFO] Trying connecting to /dev/ttyACM0 @ 9600 ...
2021-04-17T00:01:32: [INFO] EQMod Mount is offline.
2021-04-17T00:01:32: [ERROR] Error: Communication failed -> tty read failed, check connection: Timeout error
2021-04-17T00:01:17: [INFO] Trying connecting to /dev/ttyUSB0 @ 9600 ...
2021-04-17T00:01:16: [WARNING] Port /dev/ttyACM0 is already used by another driver or process.
2021-04-17T00:01:13: [INFO] Trying connecting to /dev/ttyACM0 @ 9600 ...
2021-04-17T00:01:12: [WARNING] Communication with /dev/ttyUSB0 @ 9600 failed. Starting Auto Search...
2021-04-17T00:01:12: [INFO] EQMod Mount is offline.
2021-04-17T00:01:12: [ERROR] Error: Communication failed -> tty read failed, check connection: Timeout error
2021-04-17T00:00:56: [WARNING] Port /dev/ttyACM0 is already used by another driver or process.

I also have the GPSD installed in virtual mode. But it didn't work without it either. If I understand it correct I must have GPSD installed to get correct location, which I setup in GPSD.

Even when it says that it can't connect EQMOD the EQDIRECT cable is connected as Device 4 according the list above.

Will there be any stars in my telescope ?

/Lars
 
TS130 APO & 3" field flattener / Pentax 645 ED 300mm f/4 /Sigma APO 150 mm f/2.8
EQ6 mount / HEQ5 / Star Adventurer
Canon EOS 6D
Lot of patience

Homepage:
www.astrofriend.eu/
Last edit: 9 months 1 week ago by Lars.
9 months 1 week ago #70169

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 971
  • Thank you received: 371
Hi Lars
I understand that you connect your mount with EQDIRECT cable to Raspberry Pi. Just to be sure, you are connecting it directly and you don't use synscan hand controller, right? And you use EQMod Mount driver, right?
It seems that another device is claiming /dev/ttyUSB0 port used by EQMod Mount driver. You need to identify which one it is. Disconnect all devices and connect only the mount, then connect other devices one by one and observe the logs.
GPSD is a generic, system wide service providing location to various system components. It can use various sources of location data, namely a gps receiver connected locally (most often as a serial device), gps receiver over network (eg. from your mobile) or virtualgps provided by Astroberry (static location configured in /etc/location.conf). Make sure that you don't set gpsd config to use the same serial port as your mount as this would cause problems. Leave gpsd configuration default in /etc/default/gps unless you know what you're doing. If your gps is connected to USB, it should be automatically picked by gpsd service. If using real gps, disable virtualgps service.
--
Radek Kaczorek
Astroberry Server | Orion CT8 | Askar FRA 400 | NEQ6 (hypermod) | Atik 460EX | ASI 1600 | ASI 120MM | Atik EFW2
9 months 1 week ago #70180

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 97
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by Lars on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

Hi Radek,
Thanks for your fast respons, not many week left of this dark season in Sweden.

You are correct, EQMOD direct cable, no hand terminal. EQMOD driver used. I have tried both to have it connected to RP direct or through the USB HUB.

I can have USB-Focuser connected at the same time as EQMOD. But not Canon DSLR or QHY5 camera (guide camera).

Before I enabled the GPSD driver my location was set to Warsav of Poland. Can I change the location from some menu or must I always use the command window and some sudo command ?

How it come that when I connect my devices one after one that they later change the USB adress and come in conflict ? For now I only have GPSD as a virtual, can it still conflict the USB address ? Later I shall attache a GPS device, but must first solve this conflict problem. I don't really understand, more Windows knowledge, not Linux.

In Windows I can always in advanced mode change the USB address the device is connected to, is there something similar in Linux ? I mean force each USB device to have a unique address. And if it's possible, how do I do that ?

Here is my project page with the new HEQ5 mount:
www.astrofriend.eu/astronomy/projects/project-heq5/01-heq5.html

Thanks for all help, because I'm stuck here.

/Lars
TS130 APO & 3" field flattener / Pentax 645 ED 300mm f/4 /Sigma APO 150 mm f/2.8
EQ6 mount / HEQ5 / Star Adventurer
Canon EOS 6D
Lot of patience

Homepage:
www.astrofriend.eu/
9 months 6 days ago #70202

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 97
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by Lars on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

Now I have done some investigations.

The EQDirect cable looks to cause these problems. I have another cable with a DSub connector, I tested with that one too. I get the same problem, even without have it connected to the mount. These two cables I bought recently to get the new FTDI standard and get rid of all problem I had in the Windows system I use.

I did another test with a third very old EQDirect cable with the PL2303 chip. To my surprise this cable worked, I haven't tested it very deep yet, but it behave as it should. I can cut off the Dub contact and solder a RJ45 connector to it. But I still want to know what's wrong with the FTDI cables. Better if I can get them to work.

Is the wrong driver installed for them, and how do I check which driver they use and if it's the correct one ? Is it any setup in the driver that's maybe wrong, and how do I check that ?

/Lars
TS130 APO & 3" field flattener / Pentax 645 ED 300mm f/4 /Sigma APO 150 mm f/2.8
EQ6 mount / HEQ5 / Star Adventurer
Canon EOS 6D
Lot of patience

Homepage:
www.astrofriend.eu/
9 months 4 days ago #70274

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 97
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by Lars on topic Problem Canon 6D and QHY5

Now I have tested the EQDirect cable a couple of nights. Everything looks to be perfect, still, this is the bad old PL2303 chip cable. Later I shall examine why my newer FTDI cable doesn't work.

One more positve thing, I got the GPSD to connect to a GPS dongle. I made a short project/tutorial how I set it up (with massive support from my friend):

www.astrofriend.eu/astronomy/projects/project-heq5/07-heq5.html

And the GPS NMEA driver works also, I use the Share GPS app that was recommended:

www.astrofriend.eu/astronomy/projects/project-heq5/08-heq5.html

/Lars
TS130 APO & 3" field flattener / Pentax 645 ED 300mm f/4 /Sigma APO 150 mm f/2.8
EQ6 mount / HEQ5 / Star Adventurer
Canon EOS 6D
Lot of patience

Homepage:
www.astrofriend.eu/
8 months 4 weeks ago #70633

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 971
  • Thank you received: 371
You might double check your version of FTDI converter used in the cables. There two versions, supporting two TTL levels 3.3V and 5V. Isn't it the case that you bought 3.3V TTL version by any chance? AFAIK skywatcher mounts use 5V TTL.
--
Radek Kaczorek
Astroberry Server | Orion CT8 | Askar FRA 400 | NEQ6 (hypermod) | Atik 460EX | ASI 1600 | ASI 120MM | Atik EFW2
8 months 2 weeks ago #70971

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: Radek Kaczorek
Time to create page: 0.259 seconds