INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Indi webcam , ekos wrong resolution and pixel size

• Thank you received: 0
Hi All,

I am new to guiding and fairly new to raspi as well.

I am trying to get my bresser camera running in kstar, ekos and was able to mount it as an INDI webcam.
bresser-online.nl/Webwinkel-Product-4926...-Full-HD-Camera.html
The scope is a 240 mm 60 mm guide scope.
In INDI the camera is mounted as an indi webcam which gives a 720 pix resolution (it shows 5 mu instead of 3 mu pixels) and only supports raw format.
I can choose between 8 bit and 16 bith greyscale, but cant adapt the pixel size or resolution.

In astrodmx it show full HD (1080) via video4linux.

Although i am trying to fix the issues above (that is get correct pixel size and resolution), the main problem is that i cant find enough stars to guide on (imaging m31).
I have been able to find one of the moons of jupiter and guide on them for a bit but most of the frames are pitch black without any stars (not the usual grey as you find on the internet)

Is this camera not usable or am i missing some key factor?

Thanks in advance

Ept
2 years 5 months ago #76804

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Right now, we have two web camera drivers in INDI:

1. V4L2 CCD --> This is the standard "Video 4 Linux driver"
2. INDI Webcam --> FFMPEG based driver, but limited in features and the pixel size is currently fixed at 5um. I asked Robert to see if he can make it writable at least.

You can try "V4L2 CCD" driver and see if that helps. If the camera is not recognized, it would tell you to submit the information so we can add it to the database.
2 years 5 months ago #76962

Hi Jasem,

Thank you for the tips and advice, they were very helpfull.I found out the following.

The V4L2 driver always crashed when logged in as “pi”.