INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Using a starlight camera with a c++ program

• Thank you received: 1
I'm trying to write a C++ program that can communicate with a Starlight Xpress Ultrastar camera and tell it to take a picture. I'm using a linux vm right now but the final product will be running on a raspberry pi zero. Can the Starlight Xpress driver be used directly from a C++ program? If I can do this from a C++ program then how would I get started? And do I have to first run the indiserver command in the terminal for the driver to work or can it be done without starting a server? I'm new to pretty much all of this so as much information as possible, even if it seems basic, would be extremely helpful.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Joel Millage
6 years 10 months ago #16860

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Well, there are many ways to do it. You can adapt the existing driver to your needs and take photos with it (no need for INDI or INDI server), or you can write an a simple INDI client (if you plan to use indiserver), or use indi_getprop/indi_setprop commands from any program.
6 years 10 months ago #16862

• Thank you received: 174
Ben, as Jasem wrote, it is not necessary to use INDI for this at all. Look at sxccdtest (github.com/indilib/indi/blob/master/3rdp...ndi-sx/sxccdtest.cpp) for example how to use interface library (github.com/indilib/indi/blob/master/3rdp...indi-sx/sxccdusb.cpp) directly. Peter
6 years 10 months ago #16869

Thanks for the links! I hadn't had any luck finding the driver source code since I accidentally overlooked the 3rd party folder of the git repo. I was able to get the sxccdtest file running, and it correctly identified the connected device as an ultrastar camera! The only issue is that a lot of the tests output LIBUSB_ERROR_IO. For example the output from the get camera model portion reads as follows: