INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Strange bias frames with ASI294MC Pro (under Astroberry)

• Thank you received: 15
Hi,

I just started playing with my new ASI294MC and saw the following strange behaviour: In bias frames (gain 0, offset 14) I can clearly see the CFA (Bayer) pattern. See this image, which is a screenshot of PixInsight, the bias frame heavily stretched and zoomed in:

Since there is no light involved, this cannot be true, there must be an error somewhere. I would expect a noisy background, maybe some column structures, but no Bayer checkerboard. Has anybody else such a behaviour with bias frames of the ASI294MC in KStars/Ekos? I run Astroberry on a Raspi 4B. In dark frames (exposure 300 s, gain 0, offset 14) I see the checkerboard, too, and I wouldn't expect it there, either.

Regards,
Bernd
4 years 2 months ago #48655
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Found the reason for the implausible bias frame.

The ZWO CCD driver (indi_asi_ccd) has control settings WB_R = 52 and WB_B = 95. Those white balancing factors have a range from 0...100 and are neutral at 50. These factors are multiplied by the red and blue pixels, respectively, leading to a boost in blue intensity of almost a factor of 2 (95/50 = 1.9). Therefore, the blue pixels clearly stand out of the noise floor of the bias frame, and that is what can be seen on the frame shown above.

I now set the values of WB_R = 50 and WB_B = 50 and saved it as default. Now my bias frames look as they should:

So for a proper post processing and image calibration it is important to set any white balance factors in the camera driver to unity (in this case 50).

Regards,
Bernd
4 years 2 months ago #48662
Attachments: