INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

ASI 2600mc pro: how to set the correct sensor temperature ?

• Thank you received: 161
Paolo,

the cooling temperature is up to 35 degrees below ambient. The important thing IMO is to have reproducible conditions, say -10 degrees C for all images. Accordingly, your dark frames should be taken at -10 degrees, too. If you decide to take lights at other temperatures, you have to take additional sets of dark frames at these temperatures, too. With modern sensors like the one in your 2600 the difference in noise level between -10 and -20 degrees is negligible and not worth the extra effort IMO.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Craig, Brent
Last edit: 3 years 9 months ago by Alfred.
3 years 9 months ago #55814

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 420
I agree 100% with Herrhausen. I have been using an ASI1600MM-Pro Cool for about 2 years now and I do exactly that: always cool to -10º and always use the same gain and offset. I have shot a dark library for that for different exposure times so I can always use a master dark of the same exposure time as the lights. For the ASI1600 this is necessary because of the amp glow. Recently I acquired an ASI6200 which has no amp glow so I made one master dark at -10º and use that for all my lights.

Clear skies, Wouter
The following user(s) said Thank You: Craig
3 years 9 months ago #55815

• Thank you received: 10
how do you like the 6200 over the 1600 ?
3 years 9 months ago #55818

• Thank you received: 1
Hi guys,
thanks a lot for your answers!
I really appreciate it.

@wvreeven what kind of gai and offset you are using?
From my asi2600 quick guide is suggested to use the highest dynamic range, this mean that the gain is set to zero.
With gain at zero which is the correct offset?