×

INDI Library v1.8.9 Released (01 Mar 2021)

INDI monthly update. In addition to driver improvements, major code refactoring is in progress by @pawel-soja to modernize and improve INDI aging code.

New forum users, please go here first: indilib.org/forum/new-forum-users.html

Issue with ASI Power in Stellarmate OS

It appears the service file is never installed in the debian package... investigating
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
1 month 1 week ago #68202

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I've updated the package, please run

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -y dist-upgrade

and check again.
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
1 month 1 week ago #68204

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 11
Hi Jasem

It works now. Thanks a lot.

Anat
1 month 1 week ago #68217

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 11
I saved the configuration in the 3rd tab of indi-asi-power. After that, Ekos and KStars crash when starting the connection. I have to deselect ASiPower. What can be the cause? Thanks.
Last edit: 1 month 1 week ago by anat.
1 month 1 week ago #68221

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 245
  • Thank you received: 44
I cannot reproduce this problem on my setup. Can you post the output from these commands:
sudo systemctl status pigpiod.service
pigs pigpv
pigs hwver

Can you attach the kstars log from the session that crashed?
-- Ken
RPi3 Ubuntu Server 20.04, Windows 10 AMD64, AAEON UP Core Ubuntu Desktop 20.04
Avalon M-Uno, EQ6 Pro, Atik420, ASI1600MM-C, ASI120MM-S, DBK21AU04, ZWO EFW, Optec TCFSi
Vixen R150S, GSO RC8, ST80
1 month 1 week ago #68260

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 11
The output is below:
stellarmate@stellarmate:~ $ sudo systemctl status pigpiod.service
● pigpiod.service - pigpiod daemon to control Raspberry Pi GPIO
   Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/pigpiod.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
   Active: active (running) since Sat 2021-03-06 07:46:19 UTC; 17min ago
  Process: 3238 ExecStart=/usr/bin/pigpiod (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 3239 (pigpiod)
    Tasks: 4 (limit: 4915)
   CGroup: /system.slice/pigpiod.service
           └─3239 /usr/bin/pigpiod
 
Mar 06 07:46:19 stellarmate systemd[1]: Starting pigpiod daemon to control Raspberry Pi GPIO...
Mar 06 07:46:19 stellarmate systemd[1]: pigpiod.service: Can't open PID file /run/pigpio.pid (yet?) after start: No suc
Mar 06 07:46:19 stellarmate systemd[1]: Started pigpiod daemon to control Raspberry Pi GPIO.
 
stellarmate@stellarmate:~ $ pigs pigpv
78
stellarmate@stellarmate:~ $ pigs hwver
12595473


You can get the log file and the screen record showing the issue from
drive.google.com/drive/folders/1OCidDWgh...2r-68upo?usp=sharing

Thanks.
Anat
1 month 1 week ago #68261

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 245
  • Thank you received: 44
Thanks Anat - that was helpful.
Can you tell me which version of KStars you are running? It is not in the log. I did find that I had issues when I tried running KStars 3.5.3 Beta (I installed it by mistake) and it caused the driver to crash. I'm guessing some INDI incompatibility.
Running KStars 3.5.2 I had minor issues with the config files but no crashes. I've pushed through a change for that. You may want to edit your ASI Power-config.xml.default file in ~/.indi folder. The issue is that all the device types DEV00 to DEV08 are switched On. Only DEV00 should be On and the rest should be Off. This might help. Or you can even delete the file but the issue would return each time it gets recreated.
-- Ken
RPi3 Ubuntu Server 20.04, Windows 10 AMD64, AAEON UP Core Ubuntu Desktop 20.04
Avalon M-Uno, EQ6 Pro, Atik420, ASI1600MM-C, ASI120MM-S, DBK21AU04, ZWO EFW, Optec TCFSi
Vixen R150S, GSO RC8, ST80
1 month 1 week ago #68264

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 11
I am using Kstars 3.5.2 stable.
The config file looks like this:
<INDIDriver>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='DEV0'>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV00'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV01'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV02'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV03'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV04'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV05'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV06'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV07'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV08'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='ONOFF0'>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF0OFF'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF0ON'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newNumberVector device='ASI Power' name='DUTYCYCLE0'>
  <oneNumber name='DUTYCYCLE0'>
      100
  </oneNumber>
</newNumberVector>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='DEV1'>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV10'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV11'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV12'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV13'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV14'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV15'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV16'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV17'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV18'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='ONOFF1'>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF1OFF'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF1ON'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newNumberVector device='ASI Power' name='DUTYCYCLE1'>
  <oneNumber name='DUTYCYCLE1'>
      100
  </oneNumber>
</newNumberVector>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='DEV2'>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV20'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV21'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV22'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV23'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV24'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV25'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV26'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV27'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV28'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='ONOFF2'>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF2OFF'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF2ON'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newNumberVector device='ASI Power' name='DUTYCYCLE2'>
  <oneNumber name='DUTYCYCLE2'>
      100
  </oneNumber>
</newNumberVector>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='DEV3'>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV30'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV31'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV32'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV33'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV34'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV35'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV36'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV37'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='DEV38'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newSwitchVector device='ASI Power' name='ONOFF3'>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF3OFF'>
      Off
  </oneSwitch>
  <oneSwitch name='ONOFF3ON'>
      On
  </oneSwitch>
</newSwitchVector>
<newNumberVector device='ASI Power' name='DUTYCYCLE3'>
  <oneNumber name='DUTYCYCLE3'>
      100
  </oneNumber>
</newNumberVector>
</INDIDriver>
1 month 1 week ago #68266

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 245
  • Thank you received: 44
Try deleting the 2 ASI Power config files and check if the driver works then
-- Ken
RPi3 Ubuntu Server 20.04, Windows 10 AMD64, AAEON UP Core Ubuntu Desktop 20.04
Avalon M-Uno, EQ6 Pro, Atik420, ASI1600MM-C, ASI120MM-S, DBK21AU04, ZWO EFW, Optec TCFSi
Vixen R150S, GSO RC8, ST80
1 month 1 week ago #68269

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 11
I deleted the two files and started Ekos. The problem still occurred if saving the config file. See the attached file.

Let me suggest to set the default device to "Other On/Off", PWM can harm the camera or other device needing the DC input.
Last edit: 1 month 1 week ago by anat.
1 month 1 week ago #68304
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 245
  • Thank you received: 44
Ok - so the issue is with the config file. The fix should appear soon with a default of None.
-- Ken
RPi3 Ubuntu Server 20.04, Windows 10 AMD64, AAEON UP Core Ubuntu Desktop 20.04
Avalon M-Uno, EQ6 Pro, Atik420, ASI1600MM-C, ASI120MM-S, DBK21AU04, ZWO EFW, Optec TCFSi
Vixen R150S, GSO RC8, ST80
1 month 1 week ago #68305

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 67
  • Thank you received: 11
Thanks.
1 month 1 week ago #68306

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.706 seconds