INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Partitioning the Scheduler code

• Thank you received: 76
A fresh start could be the best way to go alright. I'm not a cpp developer so I'm not an expert. It would be great to somehow work on the testing side from the start, enable TDD and the best design will then emerge from the TDD process. I've seen this produce better built software than big up front designs.

Could I also suggest that the 'weather' tickbox be hidden/removed from the current UI to prevent any misunderstanding? I'm really lucky it didn't rain when I discovered the function of this checkbox changed from monitoring weather to an initial check only. If not then maybe some help text next to it or something.

Derek
4 years 11 months ago #38843

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 370
OK, that should be easy. I'll remove it and submit a diff.

- Wolfgang
4 years 11 months ago #38854

Maybe we do not need to remove it. It seems like there is a D-Bus problem with the weather devices. I'll try to figure it out, maybe we could repair it.

- Wolfgang
The following user(s) said Thank You: Eric
4 years 11 months ago #38857

I don't think weather should be removed from scheduler. Hans is interested in improving the weather support, but maybe this would be part of the partitioning plan as well.

Where would this weather handling exactly resides? Well, this is up for discussion now.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Eric
4 years 11 months ago #38864

Ok, absolutely fine, but it seems like the Scheduler does not connect to weather devices right now. Any idea?
4 years 11 months ago #38865