INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Dither failure while guiding is good

• Thank you received: 3
Hey,

I am new to autoguiding and EKOS. I was testing things out tonight and was able to get guiding working as expected for my mount. However I was having issues with dithering. It would hang and then fail during the dither.

I am not exactly sure why it is failing. Looking at the logs I can see it start the dither, try a number of times capturing a image and sending a command to EQMod, print that it failed, and then print that it succeeded. Can anyone make heads or tails of what is happening? As I mentioned guiding corrections seem to go through no problem.

I have a RA only tracker, fyi.
2 years 2 months ago #78956
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 0
I am Facing the Same. Did you found any Solution?
2 years 2 months ago #78957

Before checking the log, if I had to guess it's because of the RA-only since it tries to pulse in both direction but obviously fails in DE.
2 years 2 months ago #78963

In the log it is sending 0ms DEC pulses. I had RA guiding only on, and the two axis calibration was off, so RA only guiding was working fine. Manual dithers failed as well.

[2021-12-30T22:26:25.208 PST DEBG ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.guide] - Dithering in progress. Current 112.23 310.043 Target 122.317 310.523 Diff star X: -0.152848 Y: -10.0973
[2021-12-30T22:26:25.208 PST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.guide] - "Warning: Dithering failed. Autoguiding shall continue as set in the options in case of dither failure."

Checking the log it is reporting an offset in X before failure.

Looking at the code leads me to this line here :
github.com/KDE/kstars/blob/master/kstars...ernalguider.cpp#L277

So X and Y offset must be under 1 for the dither to complete. That can't happen if we are only guiding in RA.