×

INDI Library v1.9.1 Released (26 Jun 2021)

Bi-monthly INDI Library v1.9.1 is released bringing a few new drivers and improvements to existing drivers.

Now the offline plate solver is not working for me

  • Posts: 211
  • Thank you received: 23
I have this working with the simulator the other day, But now it is failing.

When I try to solve the output from the CCD simulator I get the following error with verbose enabled in the log:
2016-12-05T19:35:10 Solver failed. Try again.
2016-12-05T19:35:10 Reading input file 1 of 1: "/tmp/fitsnH6654"...
2016-12-05T19:35:10 /usr/local/astrometry/bin/solve-field --no-verify --no-plots --resort --downsample 2 -O -L 26.5497 -H 36.6805 -u aw -3 23.4917 -4 30.5514 -5 30 -W /tmp/solution.wcs /tmp/fitsnH6654
2016-12-05T19:35:10 Starting solver...
2016-12-05T19:35:10 Image received.
2016-12-05T19:35:09 Capturing image...
When I try to run that command by hand I get this error:
/usr/local/astrometry/bin/solve-field --no-verify --no-plots --resort --downsample 2 -O -L 26.5497 -H 36.6805 -u aw -3 23.4917 -4 30.5514 -5 30 -W /tmp/solution.wcs /tmp/fitsnH6654
Reading input file 1 of 1: "/tmp/fitsnH6654"...
Usage: image2pnm [options]
 
image2pnm: error: no such option: --mydir
augment-xylist.c:589:backtick Failed to run command: /usr/local/astrometry/bin/image2pnm --infile /tmp/fitsnH6654 --uncompressed-outfile /tmp/tmp.uncompressed.gjITLS --outfile /tmp/tmp.ppm.zved0D --ppm --mydir /usr/local/astrometry/bin/solve-field
 ioutils.c:567:run_command_get_outputs Command failed: return value 2
My options for the plate solver in the Ekos screen are
--no-verify --no-plots --resort --downsample 2 -O -L 26.5497 -H 36.6805 -u aw -3 23.4917 -4 30.5514 -5 30
4 years 7 months ago #12947

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 211
  • Thank you received: 23
@knro I see that you posted a similar question on the astrometry.net github repo, I did in fact have multiple versions laying around. I cleaned up a bunch of the old ones and it seems better now.

try:
sudo find / -name image2pnm\*
/home/jamie/projects/astrometry.net/util/image2pnm.py
/home/jamie/projects/astrometry.net/bin/image2pnm
/usr/local/astrometry/bin/image2pnm
/usr/local/astrometry/lib/python/astrometry/util/image2pnm.py
4 years 7 months ago #12948

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 129
  • Thank you received: 20
I had exactly the same issue.
I fixed it by adding --no-fits2fits to command line.
In my case I had the issue with "Load and Slew" which does not have settings for configuring the command line, so I had to change the source code and recompile the program.
I am glad that I spent a cloudy night fetching the source code and compiling the program, so fixing this issue took few minutes this clear night B)

Alex
4 years 7 months ago #12949

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

and I just removed "--no-fits2fits" recently since it was dropped from recent builds of astrometry.net, looks like it is required in _current_ builds. I contacted Dustin over at astrometry.net to inquire about what to to do and hopefully it will be fixed soon.
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
Last edit: 4 years 7 months ago by Jasem Mutlaq.
4 years 7 months ago #12952

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 171
  • Thank you received: 41
Yes --no-fits2fits is required at least until 0.67 due to a known bug in pyfits/astropy.io.fits :( And it'll take some time until newer astrometry will reach the distributions repositories.

EDIT: The fits2fits bug groups.google.com/d/msg/astrometry/gtlRbaHnaKc/vgxT1PCrAgAJ
Last edit: 4 years 7 months ago by Christian.
4 years 7 months ago #12956

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Is there a reliable way to figure out what astrometry.net version is currently installed? I haven't researched how to do this yet so if anyone knows a quick way I can do it programatically from KStars then that's great. Some header file?
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
4 years 7 months ago #12970

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 129
  • Thank you received: 20
What happens with new builds of astrometry if --no-fits2fits is passed - does it crash?
As a workaround, would it be possible to allow user to configure command line params for "Load and Slew"?
4 years 7 months ago #12972

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 211
  • Thank you received: 23
It doesn't crash, it just fails.

Do you mean a separate command?
4 years 7 months ago #12973

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 429
  • Thank you received: 83
Jasem, just a thought, maybe executing a shell command to query the package database:

dpkg -s astrometry.net | grep Version | cut -d ':' -f 2
or
apt-cache policy astrometry.net | grep Version | cut -d ':' -f 2

but that involves calling command line.Mine retreaves: 0.67+dfsg-1
I have not seen any files we could search for it.
(PT) SC@ROS Observatory
TS 6" F4 Newtonian / Canon 550D / GPU CC / Datyson T7M / Arduino Moonlite DC Clone- HEQ5 Pro
Orion 120ST / Explore Scientific 80APO / TSAPO102Q Sextuplet / G2-8300FW5 / ES FF 2" / ASI120MM - Arduino Moonlite DC Clone - Vixen GPD2
www.flickr.com/photos/139335144@N03/
Last edit: 4 years 7 months ago by nMAC.
4 years 7 months ago #12974

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Can't use that, that's Debian specific. I found a way to figure out the version, but it only works for offline solver, not remote/online.. so I decided I'll just leave --no-fits2fits back in the option and add a warning that the user should remove it for astrometry.net version 0.68 or above. Maybe in 17.04 or 17.10 when 0.68 is used I'll completely remove it.
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
4 years 7 months ago #12975

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.856 seconds