×

INDI Library v1.9.9 Released (30 Nov 2022)

Bi-monthly INDI Library released with new drivers and bug fixes.

Simulator profiles not removable

  • Posts: 365
  • Thank you received: 32
So I'm compiling for OSX from GIT now, working great, but I noticed when trying to start EKOS that the Simulator option isn't removable nor editable. If I try to start it (without a server running) Kstars crashes. All is normal otherwise.
5 years 2 months ago #19351

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

It is made this way. Got backtrace for crash?
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
5 years 2 months ago #19353

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 365
  • Thank you received: 32
Ah, that makes sense then. Only thing that might be nice is to not allow another Simulators profile to be made... I think... as now I have 2 which I can't remove or change. :) Where are these kind of settings saved btw, would be nice to edit the profile list.

I made a backtrace using xCode, not sure if that's what you want.. or do you prefer me using Creator?
#0	0x00000001019db717 in QQuickItem::setEnabled(bool) ()
#1	0x000000010040d30e in Ekos::Mount::syncTelescopeInfo() at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars/kstars/ekos/mount/mount.cpp:215
#2	0x000000010040ce61 in Ekos::Mount::setTelescope(ISD::GDInterface*) at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars/kstars/ekos/mount/mount.cpp:168
#3	0x000000010036e1db in EkosManager::setTelescope(ISD::GDInterface*) at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars/kstars/ekos/ekosmanager.cpp:1015
#4	0x000000010003cf34 in EkosManager::qt_static_metacall(QObject*, QMetaObject::Call, int, void**) at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars-build/kstars/KStarsLib_autogen/CI6HWGPKSW/moc_ekosmanager.cpp:322
#5	0x0000000103566a81 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) ()
#6	0x000000010004f43d in INDIListener::newTelescope(ISD::GDInterface*) at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars-build/kstars/KStarsLib_autogen/FRI4DANIHA/moc_indilistener.cpp:399
#7	0x000000010056a940 in INDIListener::registerProperty(INDI::Property*) at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars/kstars/indi/indilistener.cpp:246
#8	0x000000010004eb9b in INDIListener::qt_static_metacall(QObject*, QMetaObject::Call, int, void**) at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars-build/kstars/KStarsLib_autogen/FRI4DANIHA/moc_indilistener.cpp:182
#9	0x000000010355fb0c in QObject::event(QEvent*) ()
#10	0x000000010276bbdd in QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
#11	0x000000010276e4ac in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
#12	0x00000001035359f4 in QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2(QObject*, QEvent*) ()
#13	0x0000000103536740 in QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(QObject*, int, QThreadData*) ()
#14	0x0000000105e2925e in QCocoaEventDispatcherPrivate::processPostedEvents() ()
#15	0x0000000105e29b21 in QCocoaEventDispatcherPrivate::postedEventsSourceCallback(void*) ()
#16	0x00007fff982c23e1 in __CFRUNLOOP_IS_CALLING_OUT_TO_A_SOURCE0_PERFORM_FUNCTION__ ()
#17	0x00007fff982a365c in __CFRunLoopDoSources0 ()
#18	0x00007fff982a2b46 in __CFRunLoopRun ()
#19	0x00007fff982a2544 in CFRunLoopRunSpecific ()
#20	0x00007fff97801ebc in RunCurrentEventLoopInMode ()
#21	0x00007fff97801cf1 in ReceiveNextEventCommon ()
#22	0x00007fff97801b26 in _BlockUntilNextEventMatchingListInModeWithFilter ()
#23	0x00007fff95d9aa54 in _DPSNextEvent ()
#24	0x00007fff965167ee in -[NSApplication(NSEvent) _nextEventMatchingEventMask:untilDate:inMode:dequeue:] ()
#25	0x00007fff95d8f3db in -[NSApplication run] ()
#26	0x0000000105e289bf in QCocoaEventDispatcher::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) ()
#27	0x0000000103531631 in QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) ()
#28	0x0000000103536099 in QCoreApplication::exec() ()
#29	0x0000000100010a56 in main at /Users/Papa/CloudStation/Programming/QT/Projects/AstroRoot/kstars-xcode/kstars/kstars/main.cpp:316
#30	0x00007fffade65235 in start ()
#31	0x00007fffade65235 in start ()
5 years 2 months ago #19371

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 193
  • Thank you received: 46

I have mutiple profiles here too, I would like to be able to remove the simulator profile as I already have a vm set up as a set of simulators to emulate our real domes. Right now, if I start kstars, then open up the ekos stuff, it's always got the simulators selected, which I dont want to use, dont even want on the system here.

The other nitpick in this area, the button labelled 'start indi' actually doesn't start it, it connects to the remote. But once connected, it greys out the 'stop' until I disconnect the devices. I dont want to disconnect the devices, I want to leave them connected and running, there will be other programs using them. I would like to be able to 'disconnect from dome 1' then 'connect to dome2', WITHOUT interrupting all the devices in dome1.

Right now, the only way I can see to accomplish this is to close out kstars completely, without doing the 'disconnect devices' bit, then restart and connect to the other one.
5 years 2 months ago #19372

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Simulators cannot be removed because users will remove them by mistake (and that was reported and caused me a headache). The selected profile always defaulting to Simulators is actually a bug I fixed this morning, so wait until next PPA update or compile KStars.

I don't understand the 2nd bit, is dome 2 established already as a device but not 'connected'? you can disconnect any device and connect them in INDI control panel. But perhaps I'm missing something here.
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
The following user(s) said Thank You: Stephen
5 years 2 months ago #19374

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 193
  • Thank you received: 46

I start kstars, I have a profile labelled 'dome 1' in ekos. When I click on the 'start indi' button, it connects to the computer named 'dome1', and that has an indi server running, with drivers for the EQ8, the ST10, focusser, the dome itself etc. Once I have hit the 'start indi' button (which I believe should be 'connect' not start, it's been running for a long time already on the remote computer), then the converse, the 'stop' to make it disconnect from the indiserver in dome1 is greyed out until I hit the 'disconnect devices', which then sends a 'connect=off' to all the devices out there, which I do NOT want, there are still other programs connected and running against those devices.

Now I want to look at what is in the other observatory. I cant 'disconnect' from the indi server in 'dome1' without causing all the devices to be disconnected from the server, before I can select the other profile and connect to 'dome2', which is a completely different computer, running a whole different set of devices, in a physically separate dome.

I think we should be able to disconnect from one remote indi server, and connect to another, WITHOUT shutting everything down on the first one.
5 years 2 months ago #19383

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

I haven't tried it, but have you tried adding the 2nd dome IP in device manager? If you click connect there you can probably get them in Ekos, but I'm not sure.
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
5 years 2 months ago #19387

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 365
  • Thank you received: 32
Was that backtrace good enough?
5 years 2 months ago #19398

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1279
  • Thank you received: 222
I noticed that the simulator profile became uneditable. My main issue with it is it was not restored to the profile original configuration. There are some changes I made in it that got baked in.
INDI/KStars on Raspberry Pi 4, 4gb
Raspbian Buster with AstroPi3 script configuration
Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro Mount
Canon 600D Camera
Orion SSAG/ASI120mm @280mm Guide Scope
PHD2
Waveshare Stepper Motor Board - DIY Focuser
Adafruit GPS Module
Generic Bluetooth Joystick.
Startech 7 port powered USB Hub.
5 years 2 months ago #19653

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

SQLite Editor to the rescue! Just edit ~/.local/share/kstars/userdb.sqlite in any SQLLite editor.
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
The following user(s) said Thank You: Andrew, Gervais Parent
5 years 2 months ago #19662

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 1.194 seconds