Problem Compiling on MacOS

  • Posts: 64
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by ColoradoSolar on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

rlancaste wrote: Yes, that makes sense because the locale directory is the one that gets filled with the translations and if they were not built, it doesn't exist. So you would have to comment that out too.


I'm happy to try that but why can't my install find the rule for fetch-translations?
1 year 1 month ago #20587

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 64
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by ColoradoSolar on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

rlancaste wrote: Yes, that makes sense because the locale directory is the one that gets filled with the translations and if they were not built, it doesn't exist. So you would have to comment that out too.


That got it going.

It would be nice to figure out what is happening because I would like to be able to build from the unaltered scripts.

Thanks for your help.
1 year 1 month ago #20588

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: 17
  • Thank you received: 401

Replied by rlancaste on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

Yes that is the better question, because it should be in the git. Mine is working, I will need to ask Jasem.
1 year 1 month ago #20589

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: 17
  • Thank you received: 401

Replied by rlancaste on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

by the way, I just added sounds to the cmake build script. Please test that.
1 year 1 month ago #20590

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: 17
  • Thank you received: 401

Replied by rlancaste on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

I just spent a couple of hours fixing a number of issues in the script so that it functions more smoothly. I fixed the cpanm URI problem that the script was not able to set before and had to be done manually. I updated the Mac kde repo from haraldf to mac-kde to reflect a recent name change in the repo. I removed several fixes that were put in place before because the errors they were meant to fix have now been resolved. I updated the home-brew qt5 dependency edit that Jamie had put in the script to reflect the new name for the qt5 package (now just qt). I added a line for the command line tools in case you don't have them installed. and I corrected the creation of a link to gpg. This was all after I edited the sounds.

Please test the new script. It ran much more smoothly and faster than before.
Be sure to

delete ~/Astroroot

since craft/cmake store caches for the locations of different packages, some of which have changed versions or names.

And finally, I would recommend cleaning out the old versions of the haraldf-kf5 files since the repo changed names. The "new" files could conflict with the old ones. I just went ahead and wiped everything in home-brew and let the script reinstall it all.

brew remove --force --ignore-dependencies $(brew list)

Of course if you have other packages installed in home-brew that are not related to kstars, then this would delete them too. Be careful.
1 year 1 month ago #20597

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: 17
  • Thank you received: 401

Replied by rlancaste on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

The cmake, craft, and Xcode builds should all work now, and with sounds.
1 year 1 month ago #20598

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 12

Replied by deisenlord on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

I'm having the same problem with the failing translations...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~ The Data Directory and Translations Directory
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

mkdir -p /Users/deisenlord/AstroRoot/kstars-craft/Applications/KDE/KStars.app/Contents/Resources/data
mkdir -p /Users/deisenlord/AstroRoot/kstars-craft/Applications/KDE/KStars.app/Contents/Resources/locale
copying from /Users/deisenlord/AstroRoot/kstars-craft/share/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~ NOTE: For now Craft cannot build translations for Kstars. Trying to copy from the CMAKE build instead.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

cp: /Users/deisenlord/AstroRoot/kstars-cmake/share/locale/*: No such file or directory

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~ Something failed
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1 year 1 month ago #20759

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: 17
  • Thank you received: 401

Replied by rlancaste on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

Hi deisenlord,

Try building the cmake version first, then the craft version can copy translations. Craft cannot build translations yet.

Thanks,

Rob
1 year 1 month ago #20762

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 12

Replied by deisenlord on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

Perfect, will give it a shot tonight. Thanks!
1 year 1 month ago #20770

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 64
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by ColoradoSolar on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

rlancaste wrote: I just spent a couple of hours fixing a number of issues in the script so that it functions more smoothly. I fixed the cpanm URI problem that the script was not able to set before and had to be done manually. I updated the Mac kde repo from haraldf to mac-kde to reflect a recent name change in the repo. I removed several fixes that were put in place before because the errors they were meant to fix have now been resolved. I updated the home-brew qt5 dependency edit that Jamie had put in the script to reflect the new name for the qt5 package (now just qt). I added a line for the command line tools in case you don't have them installed. and I corrected the creation of a link to gpg. This was all after I edited the sounds.

Please test the new script. It ran much more smoothly and faster than before.
Be sure to

delete ~/Astroroot

since craft/cmake store caches for the locations of different packages, some of which have changed versions or names.

And finally, I would recommend cleaning out the old versions of the haraldf-kf5 files since the repo changed names. The "new" files could conflict with the old ones. I just went ahead and wiped everything in home-brew and let the script reinstall it all.

brew remove --force --ignore-dependencies $(brew list)

Of course if you have other packages installed in home-brew that are not related to kstars, then this would delete them too. Be careful.


I'm having an issue with the build again. I did everything you mentioned in your post including removing all the kf5 stuff from homebrew. But now I am having an issue getting the new kf5 stuff to compile, mainly because of phonon not compiling. I notice that one of the issues it references is yours. What is the trick to get the build working again?

Thanks,
Eric
1 year 1 month ago #20876

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 1382
  • Karma: 17
  • Thank you received: 401

Replied by rlancaste on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

Hi Eric,

It was fine a week ago, but they must have made some changes recently to either the phonon code or to the homebrew recipe that makes it not build now, at least for the cmake version. I ran into the same problem yesterday. I reported the issue on the kde-mac github repo earlier this evening and we will have to wait and see if they fix it soon. Perhaps the craft version still works since it uses a very different method to build it. Do you want to try that?

Thanks,

Rob
1 year 1 month ago #20877

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 64
  • Thank you received: 5

Replied by ColoradoSolar on topic Problem Compiling on MacOS

rlancaste wrote: Hi Eric,

It was fine a week ago, but they must have made some changes recently to either the phonon code or to the homebrew recipe that makes it not build now, at least for the cmake version. I ran into the same problem yesterday. I reported the issue on the kde-mac github repo earlier this evening and we will have to wait and see if they fix it soon. Perhaps the craft version still works since it uses a very different method to build it. Do you want to try that?

Thanks,

Rob


Rob,

I can try to craft method if you give me some pointers on how to get it going.

Eric
1 year 1 month ago #20886

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.200 seconds