×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

indi_astrometry: Corrupt JPEG data

10 months 3 weeks ago
Gonzothegreat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1632
Karma: 6
More
Topic Author
indi_astrometry: Corrupt JPEG data #32936
As there is no much to do while you have 24h/24h 100% cloud cover.... you go and test a few things... Astrometry, for example.

$ indiserver -v indi_simulator_ccd indi_simulator_telescope indi_simulator_guide indi_astrometry
Starts Kstars 3.0.0 (Osx), connect to indi server, then Align > Load&Slew (I select my h.jpg file) | Solver: remote
Options: -O --no-plots --no-verify --resort --downsample 2 -3 2.54167 -4 59.2583 -5 30

While trying to solve an image which I know is solvable, I get the following:

2018-12-23T09:45:07: Driver indi_astrometry: jpegtopnm: WRITING PPM FILE
2018-12-23T09:45:07: Driver indi_astrometry: Corrupt JPEG data: premature end of data segment
2018-12-23T09:45:07: Driver indi_astrometry: Unsupported marker type 0x6b
2018-12-23T09:45:07: Driver indi_astrometry: Command failed: jpegtopnm /tmp/ccdsolver.fits > /tmp/tmp597Lqf.pnm
2018-12-23T09:45:07: Driver indi_astrometry: augment-xylist.c:589:backtick Failed to run command: /usr/bin/python -m astrometry.util.image2pnm --infile /tmp/ccdsolver.fits --uncompressed-outfile /tmp/tmp.uncompressed.MDUZvN --outfile /tmp/tmp.ppm.gycMPt --ppm --mydir /usr/bin/solve-field
2018-12-23T09:45:07: Driver indi_astrometry: ioutils.c:567:run_command_get_outputs Command failed: return value 255



The interesting thing is that the image I used is a jpeg, and it is not corrupted.

heidenrod@heidenrod-obs:~/test_solve$ file h.jpg
h.jpg: JPEG image data, JFIF standard 1.01, aspect ratio, density 1x1, segment length 16, baseline, precision 8, 1536x1152, frames 3
heidenrod@heidenrod-obs:~/test_solve$ jpegtopnm h.jpg >h.ppm
jpegtopnm: WRITING PPM FILE
heidenrod@heidenrod-obs:~/test_solve$ file h.ppm
h.ppm: Netpbm image data, size = 1536 x 1152, rawbits, pixmap
heidenrod@heidenrod-obs:~/test_solve$


If I use the ccdsolver.fits from the /tmp folder then yes it is corrupted.
$ cp /tmp/ccdsolver.fits .
$ jpegtopnm ccdsolver.fits > ccdsolver.ppm
jpegtopnm: WRITING PPM FILE
Corrupt JPEG data: premature end of data segment
Invalid JPEG file structure: two SOF markers





# dpkg -l | grep astrometry
ii astrometry.net 0.73+dfsg-1 armhf Astrometry plate solver
ii libastrometry0:armhf 0.73+dfsg-1 armhf Astrometry plate solver (shared lib)
ii libnova-0.16-0:armhf 0.16-2 armhf celestial mechanics, astrometry and astrodynamics library
ii python-astrometry 0.73+dfsg-1 armhf Astrometry plate solver (Python package)

Kstars Mac osx
Odroid C1 running indiserver (kept up-to-date with apt-get update/upgrade)
HEQ5 pro / QHY5 / Atik 314L+
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

10 months 3 weeks ago
Gonzothegreat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1632
Karma: 6
More
Topic Author
indi_astrometry: Corrupt JPEG data #32937
Interesting, not sure what this is about

[2018-12-23T13:20:05.586 GMT INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Starting remote solver..."
[2018-12-23T13:20:05.624 GMT INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Astrometry : "[INFO] Astrometry solver is enabled. "
[2018-12-23T13:20:05.624 GMT DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - < Astrometry >: < ASTROMETRY_RESULTS >
[2018-12-23T13:20:05.844 GMT INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Astrometry : "[ERROR] Astrometry compression error: -3 "
[2018-12-23T13:20:27.478 GMT INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Solver aborted after 22 seconds"

Kstars Mac osx
Odroid C1 running indiserver (kept up-to-date with apt-get update/upgrade)
HEQ5 pro / QHY5 / Atik 314L+

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

10 months 3 weeks ago
Gonzothegreat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1632
Karma: 6
More
Topic Author
indi_astrometry: Corrupt JPEG data #32940
Even more interesting, I have on the server and on the Mac the same indexes files (index-4208.fits index-4214.fits).
Using the internal Astrometry within Kstars 3.0 (OSX), and with the following options: -O --no-plots --downsample 2
I can solve images when choosing "internal"

But If I pick "remote", the solver does not work at all. Nothing happens, just hit the time-out.

Kstars Mac osx
Odroid C1 running indiserver (kept up-to-date with apt-get update/upgrade)
HEQ5 pro / QHY5 / Atik 314L+

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

10 months 2 weeks ago
fmalterre
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 15
More
indi_astrometry: Corrupt JPEG data #33102
Hi,
Not on mac, but on windows using remote solving I have the same kind of issue. Kstars connected remotely on indi server running on a TinkerBoard - posted a question about that already.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.380 seconds