×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1?

6 months 1 week ago 6 months 1 week ago by Ron Kramer.
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36018
Ah okay - I did put MINT on the nuc - but I felt that was over kill and it's lacking a lot of the astroberry things. So I just wanted astroberry. I do already have kstars on it. I really wanted the NOVNC on the nuc/mint install... but my attempts to do so have failed.

But I can write my PI astroberry out to ISO and restore it to a larger SD card? size and then use that on the PI. I'm a little confused about the two/three partitions I had to make to put mint on the PC. The SD for the PI also has 2 paritions it appears? ( a / and a /boot ) on a sd card.

GLAD I ASKED - I'd have spent hours more making SD cards that wouldn't boot on the nuc! = )

AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
Kaczorek
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 642
Karma: 6
More
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36062
You can make a binary copy of your SD card easily (takes some time though so be patient).
Note: Make sure that you use proper CARD_DEVICE (e.g. /dev/sdb, /dev/mmcblk0). If you are unsure DO NOT run these commands. Running the second command with wrong device you can overwrite other disk connected to your PC and destroy data stored on it. To check CARD_DEVICE you can plug an SD card to your PC running linux and run "mount" in terminal... at the bottom of the list you will find something like "/dev/sdb1 on /media/ron/PI_BOOT" and "/dev/sdb2 on /media/ron/PI_ROOT" - this means that CARD_DEVICE is /dev/sdb (not /dev/sdb1 or /dev/sdb2 - these are first and second partitions on the card, while /dev/sdb is the card the patritions are sitting on)

Back-up SD to file:
sudo dd if=CARD_DEVICE of=astroberry-server.img bs=8M status=progress

Restore SD from file:
sudo dd if=astroberry-server.img of=CARD_DEVICE bs=8M status=progress

--
Radek Kaczorek
Astroberry Server | NEQ6 | Atik 460EX | Atik EFW2 | ASI 120MM
The following user(s) said Thank You Ron Kramer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago 6 months 1 week ago by Ron Kramer.
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36063
So I have mint back on the nuc in the PC. I could use the PI with astroberry but PI's are limited to 1gb ram and 2.0 usb. = (
With mint on the nuc - I started to config. Everything connects except the mount and cloudwatcher.
I checked the mounts settings and all seem fine. It goes and looks and can't seem to find the port ?

any ideas from attached screen shot. I wanted to be sure another device didn't hog the ports so I turned off "AUTO START"
and started - then only tried to attach only the mount. See attachment. thought it sounds like the other drivers already have hooks into ports.




AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago 6 months 1 week ago by ezwheels.
ezwheels
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 41
More
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36065
I had to install an FTDI driver. The CP4 control has a hardware serial to USB converter inside the box and an FTDI driver was necessary... at least on the PC, but I do not think I needed to install it on the Mac. Please review the connection tab in the jpeg that I uploaded on the first page of this thread. It says : /dev/cu.usbserial-AIO501DQ and not simply usb. I am not sure how it would work on Linux, but I would imagine something similar has to be configured. Maybe the driver is already in your installation and you just have to configure that port to recognize it that way.

AP1100GTO CP4
TEC140 QTCC, SW Esprit 100ED (Ric Red)
ASI 1600mmPro and ASI 071MCPro
EFW7 36mm unmounted AD Filters
QHY OAG
ASI 290mm Mini
Sesto Senso and Nitecrawler
Kstars/EKOS 3.2.1
OSX10.13.6
2011 MacBook Pro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago 6 months 1 week ago by Ron Kramer.
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36067
FTDI? where how to install that.

Mine looks like this. I only have 3 tabs showing.


AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36100
Now why would it work on the PI and astroberry? Should I see the mount connected? I see my dome.

ron@DOMEPCLinux:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 174c:5106 ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1051 SATA 3Gb/s bridge
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 2109:0813 VIA Labs, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 8087:0a2b Intel Corp.
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 4320:0301
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0424:2503 Standard Microsystems Corp. USB 2.0 Hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 2109:2813 VIA Labs, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0461:4d16 Primax Electronics, Ltd
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 2341:8036 Arduino SA Leonardo (CDC ACM, HID)
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
ron@DOMEPCLinux:~$
ron@DOMEPCLinux:~$
ron@DOMEPCLinux:~$ cat /proc/tty/drivers
/dev/tty /dev/tty 5 0 system:/dev/tty
/dev/console /dev/console 5 1 system:console
/dev/ptmx /dev/ptmx 5 2 system
/dev/vc/0 /dev/vc/0 4 0 system:vtmaster
rfcomm /dev/rfcomm 216 0-255 serial
usbserial /dev/ttyUSB 188 0-511 serial
acm /dev/ttyACM 166 0-255 serial
dbc_serial /dev/ttyDBC 245 0 serial
ttyprintk /dev/ttyprintk 5 3 console
max310x /dev/ttyMAX 204 209-224 serial
serial /dev/ttyS 4 64-111 serial
pty_slave /dev/pts 136 0-1048575 pty:slave
pty_master /dev/ptm 128 0-1048575 pty:master
unknown /dev/tty 4 1-63 console
ron@DOMEPCLinux:~$

AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36101
I'm gonna go out there and try to confurm it's plugged in. ( I swapped cables to PI and then back and may have omitted it.

Also is there a way to DUAL BOAT remotely? I have linux booting automatically and team viewer or other remote access won't give me control until it's booted. So is there a way (calling a script or something?) to switch the OS that boots by default? Anyone have control over this?

I could boat windows and confirm my other setup to make sure the mount is indeed connected.

AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36102
Other things I wanted to share. When going to linux the browser (FF) did not support the spectrum cable viewer so that I could watch tv in a window.
Using crossover I installed windows firefox on linux and it now runs my cable viewer (written for windows)

Another issue was I lost access to my IP cameras in the dome. The browser "plug in" was for windows only. As are the IP camera viewers by Foscam. I couldn't get any to work or find a program on Linux. I'm using rtsp://IP on VLC and though I don't have PTZ function I do have a live feed from the primary dome camera.

The linux change over hasn't been easy but the DARK WINDOW BACKGROUND has me hooked. = ) Here's my screen I love it. And my other screen has the DOMEPC via teamviewer running kstars.


AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36105
REPLYING to my own REPLIES? = )

UPDATE: no idea why, I was doing some bug tracing for another topic thread and for some reason in turning on my gear the mount is now connected and working.

I'll power up the rest and see if everything will work.

(anyone using cloudwatcher? or a automated flip-flap? is it called - my lens cap device. ) things I still have to get working.

AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36107
EZWheels - the mount seems to be working. Though my log at the bottom fo the window says WARNING mount not initialized. I normally do that in APCC. How do we initialize the Mach1 without APCC?

AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
Ron Kramer
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 326
More
Topic Author
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36112
Any ideas? (is there a limit?) Mount is now working very well, but my CCD SX (lodestar) guide camera isn't loading. I checked it - it's configured in the INDI control panel. But no tab appears for it.

Under guiding - I see the ASI1600. (it use to show me both 1600 and the lodestar).
Making progress!

AP Mach1 / CP4 APCC & PEMpro.
EXP SCI - ED152cf APO - Celestron 11" RASA - Stellarvue 80mm
Baader F2 HS NB filters, Lodestar X2 guide camera / OAG - ZWO 290mm mini
ZWO ASI1600MM Pro / ASI174M (solar) / ASI094MC
NEXDome, CLoudwatcher, AVX mount/ASIair and Stellarmate

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

6 months 1 week ago
hy
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 62
More
Ron's obsy setup - Anyone connecting Indi to MACH1? #36120
Radek,

I've been using dd to backup and restore SD cards, and I've seen, e.g. 30minutes to save a 32Gb SD card to disk and 2-3 hours to write a 32Gb SD card from disk. I've also noticed that when I download an Ubuntu .iso, Etcher can write that to an SD card in a minute (though it's true that the dd backups are 32Gb, and the Ubuntu .iso files are a few GB). Still, the write speed of Etcher seems an order of magnitude faster--though it won't write these dd backups. Any idea why Etcher is so much faster at writing SD cards, and is there a way to get dd to write that fast, or get Etcher to write these dd backups?

Hy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.624 seconds