INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Please help fix this focus issue.

• Thank you received: 139
I've been imaging successfully with EKOS for a few years. I continue to occasionally come across an issue where the focus module picks up on some stray element, and gets way out of focus unable to recover. Unfortunately, it thinks it's in focus as it has no way of actually knowing. Last night, imaging M106, it did exactly this. After a dozen or so successful focus attempts, on one focusing run, it got out of focus and stayed there. Then the scheduler tried to check alignment, and the scheduler tried to solve the unfocused image 196 times. It seems at some point, the system should recheck focus with so many failed attempts. Looking at the focus parameters I noticed Max Travel, and Max Step size. Which of these would I want to set to stop this from happening? Usually focus seems to float within a few hundred (0-250) or so. I have a Moonlite focuser, so no backlash, and I've been using Polynomial process.

What should my parameters be for both the process and mechanics tab. Thanks for any help. I've lived with this issue far too long, and probably could have avoided it had I looked closely at these settings.

The following user(s) said Thank You: Eric
4 years 2 months ago #49528
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 420
Instead of Gradient Detection you may wanna try SEP. That very often gives me excellent results. Also try a smaller initial step size. This will ensure that the focuser doesn’t take big jumps though it also requires a close to optimum initial focus so you may need to manually focus (more or less) before switching to auto focus. And a tolerance of 1% is too small. Better try 5%. Finally I average over 3 frames to reduce the effect of varying seeing.