INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Re:Can you change the settings on the CCD simulator?

• Thank you received: 0
Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner getting up to speed with Kstars/EKOS on Astroberry. Had a few clear night recently but I feel like there's a lot to learn and glad to see there's a simulator rather than having to wait until it gets clear and dark to play.

I'd like to change the CCD simulator to match my guide camera (ZWO ASI120MC-S) as I'm having great trouble trying to plate solve. So change the resolution, pixel size etc. I see in the INDI control panel there's a simulator config tab that has the settings I want to change, but they are all greyed out. What am I missing?

Cheers!
3 years 11 months ago #51631

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 420
Hi Sid,

Sorry, I don't know the answer to your question. But I do have a few questions for you. Why do you want to do plate solving with the guide cam? If it is for pointing the main telescope then please note that there are many factors that influence the difference in pointing between the main telescope and guide telescope (mis-alignment, flexure, etc). For that reason, plate solving with the main telescope should be used for pointing the main telescope. Having said that, there are many reasons why plate solving may fail. Can you tell us all about the guide telescope used and what settings you used for plate solving? Actually, if you enable debug logging and upload the logs here then we can try and help you fix that.

Clear skies, Wouter
3 years 11 months ago #51640

Thanks for the response wvreeven. Short answer is I'd like to get the simulator working regardless as after tonight it looks like no clear skies for a while!