INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Newbie question: for guider scope, internal ekos vs PHD2?!!

• Thank you received: 25
Hello,

I'm new to ekos and the whole astrography. I wonder if someone can advise me which guider app is better to use with ekos, internal or PHD2?

I'm new to both but I have seen more videos about PHD2 and only one for the internal...

Thank you...
3 years 11 months ago #51718

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 1
I've been using the internal guider and it works for me. Not sure what PHD2 would offer over ad above the internal guider except for another app to keep an eye on.

Rene
3 years 11 months ago #51721

• Thank you received: 26
I've had troubles with the calibration using the internal guider. It may have to do with backlash in the mount, although I think a decent guider should be able to identify those issues and in principle be able to correct for that, especially after a calibration has been done.
Because of the issue, I reverted to PHD2, which works like a charm.
I don't agree with Rene's remark that it's another app to keep an eye on, since it 'just works' and even reports back the error values and the guide star image back to Ekos. Also dither works with out any problem. - only- thing is that you need to start it up, which you could auto-start on raspberry pi startup.

Cheers and have fun!
Bart
3 years 11 months ago #51740

• Thank you received: 117
Another opinion to consider: I used the Ekos internal guider for quite a while, and it works simply and sufficiently. If you're not that "into" guiding, then it will probably work great for you. On the other hand, IF you are interested in analyzing your guiding (in hopes to maximize performance), or you would enjoy having additional guiding tools, then PHD2 is likely a good way to go.