INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Dark frames on dual sensors Sbig camera

• Thank you received: 1
Hello,

As it is my first post here, let's present myself: I am an amateur astronomer from France, doing CCD astrophotography since 2011. However I discovered Kstars/Ekos and the INDI world in January 2020 only, so thank you for this huge work and valuable tool, and sorry if my question is a bit naive.

Here is the problem. I use KStars 3.4.1 with a Mac OS 10.14.5. I connect to my Sbig ST10 with its CFW-9 filter wheel and when asked whether it has an internal shutter for dark frames I answered yes. Now, in the Guide panel, when doing a capture, Ekos starts by making a dark frame for the guide chip, however the resulting dark-subtracted image looks horrible, with 9-magnitude star (through a C9.25) barely visibles in a very noisy field. Of course the guiding was very poor. I checked that the cooling was one. I then acquire guide frames and guide with my other software (Equinox Image) and everything was fine. It looks like the dark frame subtraction was not properly done, or that the shutter was not in place. Have you an idea ?

Thanks,
Philippe
3 years 11 months ago #52309

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Anyone ?
3 years 11 months ago #52535

Can you post links to FITS images for both the guide chip LIGHT and DARK frames?
3 years 11 months ago #52544

Thanks,

Unfortunately, I was not wise enough to acquire those frames during my last night session, and it looks like it will not be possible for a while. However, I made the following experiment this afternoon: I connected my ST10, cooled it to -12°C, and acquired with Ekos:
- a frame of the guide chip, without subtracting a dark (case "dark" unchecked): light2s_green_nodarksub.fits
- a dark frame: dark_2s_green_guide.fits
- a frame with "dark" checked: light2s_green_darksub.fits