INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

kstars crashing using RealVNC

• Thank you received: 14
I've been using kstars/Ekos for about 6 months now and just started to get to grips with the polar alignment tool. My problem is that quite often kstars/ekos crashes with core dump. Maybe some incompatible/missing libraries ? I'm using Linux Mint 19.3 with all updates applied and server is
raspberry pi 4 running ubuntu 18.04 all updates applied. When just using plain X desktop I have never had a problem, but now I am running over
VNC so that I can take device running vncviewer into garden to adjust polar alignment.
I ran kstars from command line and kept standard output attached. Don't know if that shows the problem ?

File Attachment:

File Name: Kstars-eko...rror.txt
File Size:15 KB
3 years 2 months ago #65198
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

[xcb] Too much data requested from _XRead
[xcb] This is most likely caused by a broken X extension library
[xcb] Aborting, sorry about that.
kstars: ../../src/xcb_io.c:741: _XRead: Assertion `!xcb_xlib_too_much_data_requested' failed.
Aborted (core dumped)
[nick ~]$

Very odd error, never seen it before.
3 years 2 months ago #65201

It seems I must have touched the "Mount control" in the mount module. This is what definitely crashes it.
Although I seem to remember it also crashed the other night when trying the polar alignment.
I will try to keep using it and come back to you if I have something more.
Thanks.
3 years 2 months ago #65204

Then QML issue. Looks like your installation have some issues with installing correct Qt QML dependencies. That's just a guess.
3 years 2 months ago #65213

• Thank you received: 16