×

INDI Library v1.9.9 Released (30 Nov 2022)

Bi-monthly INDI Library released with new drivers and bug fixes.

Trying to connect PHD2

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 1
I started indiserver through the command line and tried to make a profile in PHD2. PHD2 just can't connect to the camera. I'm using a QHY 5L II M guide camera.

This is what info I get from the terminal:
dana@astrolaptop:~$ indiserver -v indi_qhy_ccd indi_eqmod_telescope indi_joystick
2017-03-25T18:08:37: startup: indiserver -v indi_qhy_ccd indi_eqmod_telescope indi_joystick 
2017-03-25T18:08:37: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: pid=2331 rfd=3 wfd=6 efd=7
2017-03-25T18:08:37: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: pid=2332 rfd=4 wfd=9 efd=10
2017-03-25T18:08:37: Driver indi_joystick: pid=2333 rfd=5 wfd=12 efd=13
2017-03-25T18:08:37: listening to port 7624 on fd 8
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on GPS Simulator.GEOGRAPHIC_COORD
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on GPS Simulator.TIME_UTC
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on Dome Simulator.DOME_PARK
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on Dome Simulator.DOME_SHUTTER
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: Using prefix /usr/share/indi//indi_eqmod_sk.xml
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: Using prefix /usr/share/indi//indi_align_sk.xml
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: Using prefix /usr/share/indi//indi_eqmod_simulator_sk.xml
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: Using prefix /usr/share/indi//indi_eqmod_scope_limits_sk.xml
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: EnumeratePlugins - found plugin SVD Math Plugin
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on .GEOGRAPHIC_COORD
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on .TIME_UTC
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on .DOME_PARK
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_eqmod_telescope: snooping on .DOME_SHUTTER
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on Telescope Simulator.EQUATORIAL_EOD_COORD
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on Telescope Simulator.TELESCOPE_INFO
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on CCD Simulator.FILTER_SLOT
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on CCD Simulator.FILTER_NAME
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on SQM.SKY_QUALITY
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on indi_eqmod_telescope.EQUATORIAL_EOD_COORD
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on indi_eqmod_telescope.TELESCOPE_INFO
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on .FILTER_SLOT
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on .FILTER_NAME
2017-03-25T18:08:38: Driver indi_qhy_ccd: snooping on .SKY_QUALITY
2017-03-25T18:09:09: Client 0: new arrival from 127.0.0.1:33170 - welcome!
2017-03-25T18:09:14: Client 0: read EOF
2017-03-25T18:09:14: Client 0: shut down complete - bye!

What additional information do I need for someone to attempt diagnosis?

Thanks in advance,

Dana
5 years 8 months ago #15642

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic Trying to connect PHD2

There is nothing wrong in the log. What's the problem in PHD2 exactly?
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
5 years 8 months ago #15644

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 1

Replied by Dana Tousley on topic Trying to connect PHD2

And any time I manage to get to the INDI control panel to show, it will soon kill PHD2 also.
5 years 8 months ago #15645

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic Trying to connect PHD2

The INDI control panel makes PHD2 shuts down? If that's the case, then it's a bug in PHD2.
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
5 years 8 months ago #15649

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 158
  • Thank you received: 32

Replied by Bill on topic Trying to connect PHD2

I responded to this on CN as well. Can you walk us through how you are using PHD2? Do you have Ekos and INDI on the same machine as well?

The basic jist of what you want to do here, as I understand it, is get INDI running, connect, and then open PHD2, connect your devices to PHD2 then allow Ekos to manage everything else in terms of PHD2.

Are you able to open PHD2 and connect your camera and mount to it via the INDI driver, or are you trying to select your camera directly through PHD2? It gives the option to use the INDI Driver, if you installed PHD2 from the same repo.
5 years 8 months ago #15651

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Jasem Mutlaq on topic Trying to connect PHD2

I also talked about using PHD2 in the Ekos documentation here: www.indilib.org/about/ekos/guide-module.html#h8-using-phd2

Is anyone reading the documentation? I didn't write it for myself!! :D
Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
5 years 8 months ago #15652

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 158
  • Thank you received: 32

Replied by Bill on topic Trying to connect PHD2

I have used quite a bit of the documentation. :)
5 years 8 months ago #15654

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 1

Replied by Dana Tousley on topic Trying to connect PHD2

From the documentation written for me:
That's what doesn't work. I never make it through connecting a QHY guide camera and EQMOD mount in PHD2 and making a PHD2 profile. I'm not even trying to involve EKOS. Just launching INDI from command line and launching PHD2.

PHD2 can't function with just INDI and without EKOS?

And the problem in the log is the last word, Bye. I was still trying to use it.
5 years 8 months ago #15656

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 158
  • Thank you received: 32

Replied by Bill on topic Trying to connect PHD2


PHD2 sets up a server process when it loads. Ekos connects to that port on the host running phd2 to send commands to it. They do not need to be on the same machine.

When you connect phd2 to your camera and mount, select indi driver, then you should get a dialog with info to connect to indi. Click connect and then choose the device from the drop down menu and connect to it in phd2.
5 years 8 months ago #15658

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 1

Replied by Dana Tousley on topic Trying to connect PHD2


That's what I'm trying to do. I select INDI camera in PHD2, the INDI popup appears to select QHY and when I select it and press connect, that's when PHD2 dies. Is there a log somewhere I can attach?
5 years 8 months ago #15661

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 158
  • Thank you received: 32

Replied by Bill on topic Trying to connect PHD2

I am not sure if PHD2 has a log, although it sounds like it is crashing. Where did you install PHD2 from? What version are you using?
5 years 8 months ago #15662

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 45
  • Thank you received: 1

Replied by Dana Tousley on topic Trying to connect PHD2

Someone from the Open PHD group is looking at the PHD log.
Last edit: 5 years 8 months ago by Dana Tousley.
5 years 8 months ago #15704

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.745 seconds