INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Home Built Astronomy - on the cheap, or Not !!!!! But still good fun.

• Thank you received: 0
Hello Everyone.

Please forgive me for my rather long essay, i have quite an interesting story to tell, and i also need some technical advice.

I am quite new to AstroPhotography, in fact i have only got some really quite nice moon shots, but i want to get into DSO, which is what i bought the scope for in the first place.

My Setup
Skywatcher 130/900
EQ2 Mount.
Nikon D5200.
AstroDSLR software.

And i know before i hear you all shouting at me on the internet, that you can't do it with my setup. Well just to let you know I have done it. Well Sort of. So here is my story. and i would love some input please.

The first project change i made to the scope was to build an electronic focuser, which consisted of a 12v high torque motor, encased and mounted onto the focusing head, with a hand held power unit to focus in. This works very effectively, taking about 90 seconds to focus from one all the way in, to all the way out. Giving great control on adjusting focus very very slowly.

As you all know, and i soon found out that the speed of rotation moves any object out of FOV in next to no time, which is ok for short exposures, but anything over a second is really not usable. So i read a few ideas online and started to go about building my own motorised mount.

So with my Mac and having a Powered USB Hub connected to a FTDI usb card, connected to an Arduino Uno, connected to a Motor Driver, connected to two high torque motors, all encased and mounted to the tripod being controlled by Lin_Guider, running on Raspian OS on Oracle Virtualbox on my Mac, I managed to get it working. The guide scope was a cheap £5 scope and a £5 web-cam attached to it, and it did quite a good job enabling me to take 10 min subs and longer.