INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

New to Linux... Which variant to install.

• Thank you received: 5
Like the title says, I am new to the linux world and i am contemplating installing Linux along side Win 10 pro on my NUC. The reason for doing this is two fold. The first is, I would like to have the option of placing the NUC on the imaging rig and remote into it with an iPad or my MB Pro. The second reason is perhaps better driver support and control in Linux version of kstars versus the OSX versions. I do not know if there is a difference but I suspect as the project started with Linux it might be getting more attention. I currently run kstars on the MBP and it mostly works with version 2.9.8. However I still get stalls on ASI downloads. And random crashes I think are associated with my USB cable and/or ports. When I updated to 3.0.0 and 3.1.0 or 3.1.1 I lose the ability to use the sesto senso focuser and cannot connect to my QHY CFW3.

At this point I would like to try the Linux variant of Kstars but I would like to know what version of it I should install. I am a total newb to Linux and so something that is foolproof for beginners would be more ideal but also a version that hopefully the developers are on or are familiar with so I can try to replicate some of the tried and true set-ups.

What say you, Linux gurus?
4 years 11 months ago #37285

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 62
think that many are holding back because which Linux 'version' (distro) is better is always a sensitive topic. So, just to break the ice: I would recommend Mint Cinnamon, mainly because you' re coming from Windows.
Some further consideration:
- NUCs come in a wide range of features. If your NUC , like mine, is at least i5 and with enough RAM Mint Cinnamon is not an issue. For lower NCUs you could need a lighter desktop environment (xfce or mate) or a lighter distro.