INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Astrohat - An open hardware RPi Hat for astronomy equipment

• Thank you received: 69
Well I actually have both already :)

I find I prefer the Odroid-N2, seems snappier. Much of that is likely due to the eMMC vs SD.

I'm a complete novice with electronics, so this looks similar, but maybe not sufficiently so.

4 years 3 months ago #46368
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 182
I leave it to Pierros to decide whether that would work or not. My way of putting together PC components involves switching on the power and then watching closely whether I see smoke or sparks somewhere.
I had a slight wiring mishap a few years ago and as it happened, my wife came into the room as the motherboard was literally sending up smoke signals.
I still have not lived that one down, that is a favorite story of hers whenever the topic of any conversation drifts into computers and electronics.

As for the Odroid being snappier, I think you have put your finger on the money. It's the eMMC that makes all the difference. I am booting my Pi4 off an SSD and the difference between that and booting from an SD card is also pretty stunning.
4 years 3 months ago #46369

• Thank you received: 38

Noted! I am all for leaving extra ports for things that might be useful in the future ;) Although I think that the cooling tower is a bit of an overkill as others said (due to latest developments on firmware and target environments). I will be adding a port of 5V+ and GND with a simple JST-XH connector just in case though ;)
4 years 3 months ago #46371

Please send links to any suggested ones! Would love to get some input on viable replacements for 5.5x2.1 DC plugs (while possibly retaining backwards compat?)
4 years 3 months ago #46372