INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

How to increase the mount connection's timeout

• Thank you received: 3
I've never used minicom before. But just now I downloaded and installed it (using brew). I set it to connect to cu.usbserial with a baud rate of 9600. I saved the settings and then restarted minicom. It correctly identifies the cu.usbserial port and the baud rate but it reports "Offline" (see attached screenshot). I'm not sure if it's offline because of the problem I've been having or if it's offline because I need to click a connect button somewhere in minicom. Is there some minicom command that I'm supposed to enter to query the mount?

4 years 3 months ago #47515
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

You can turn local echo on and then type and press enter. There is another software for Mac: www.decisivetactics.com/products/serial/
4 years 3 months ago #47517

One last thing... Given all that I've learned over the past several days, the only thing I can think of that might be causing the connection problem is the fact that my Serial-to-USB adapter is not connected directly to my Macbook Pro. My Macbook, like most modern computers, doesn't not have a USB port. It only has USB-C. So, I have a USB-to-USB-C adapter that is also part of the setup. Maybe that's why things aren't working on my Macbook (even though it does work on the VMware/Win8 side). Should I go to the store and buy a Serial-toUSB-C adapter?
4 years 3 months ago #47518

Interesting. Just now I turned "local echo" on and now yes I can type stuff and press enter. I typed some random characters and pressed enter a few times and didn't see anything other than what I typed. I'm guessing the fact that my cu.usbserial port is listed as "Offline" is the problem. Right?
4 years 3 months ago #47519