INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Question about Ekos/PHD2 and guidescope/tracker

• Thank you received: 5
Hi folks, I'm new to all this and trying to understand the relation of these programs and their interfacing with hardware. As I understand it, my ZWO ASI120mm cam connects to the computer by USB, and to my Skyguider Pro tracker via ST4.

Now, my Skyguider Pro is not listed in the iOptron product list in Ekos/PHD2. Is this because the Skyguider is single axis and the supported mount list is for dual axis mounts?

When the hardware is set as described above, Ekos/PHD2 see the ASI120, but not the tracker. Am I to assume that this isn't important, because the programs will communicate with the guide cam and the guide cam will take care of sending the proper correction signals to the tracker?

If not, why is the tracker not recognized? Do I need to plug the tracker directly into the Pi 4 instead of the guide cam's ST4 port?

Thanks for any info on this.
3 years 10 months ago #54916

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 226
The iOptron Skyguider Pro is not a GoTo mount, so KStars can not control it. In its place run the Telescope Simulator, it should then show a position if you attempt to plate solve.
As you can not send slew commands to this mount, you will have to use the ST4 cable directly between the camera and the mount's guideport and select On-Camera for 'Mount' in the autoguider configuration.

Also worth noting is the USB2.0 version of the ASI120mm has compatibility issues with Linux. But in my experience can work as an autoguider reasonably well on the Raspberry Pi4 and the compatibility firmware installed on the camera. This is not an issue with the USB3 or Mini version.
3 years 10 months ago #54921