INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Need help with GPS

• Thank you received: 6

Need help with GPS was created by Hartmut

Hi,

I’m new to Astroberry and to be frank I´m not sure how all this SW parts like INDI,Ekos, K-Stars and so on belong together. So therefore maybe I post here in the wrong forum.
However I used the image provided for installation some days ago.

I´m trying to get GPS (NEO 6M u-Blox on serial RS232 to USB vonverter) running on my Astroberry RPi 4B / 4GB. The RPi is connected to my home network.
I checked the GPS unit before via U-Blox SW on a PC and it is running well.

Now attached to an USB2.0 port of my RPi and configured via INDi(?) as you can see on my screenshots. I get a fix which is shown by the flashing onboard LED when connecting to the Astroberry.
NMEA data is coming in (Putty/Console screenshot). The LED is flashing indicating that there is a fix in the GPS unit.
Also I can see that the GPS is running (GPSD) but I get not values and no fix int he SW.

Any idea what to test or what I can do?

CS
Hardy

3 years 2 months ago #66632

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Hartmut on topic Need help with GPS

In addition to my post here is more info. I checked with "cgps" and got an empty list (see screenshot). maybe all has to do with the driver assignment(?):

I use cat -v /dev/ttyUSB0 and get the NMEA messages. But when reading posts to a GPS related problem many peopla talk aboz "cat -v /dev/ttyACM0". Maybe this info will help you to help me.
I´m not a Linux expert...

Attachment not found

Attachment not found

3 years 2 months ago #66634

Screenshots
3 years 2 months ago #66635
Attachments:

Continuing my monologue...:lol:

I made a little progress myself and got it running until I did a reboot of my Pi.
I used following I found here “ learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-ultimate-gps...etting-everything-up