Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
25 Jul 2018
Glad to announce of release of INDI Library v1.7.4 on 2018-07-25. A few drivers were added in this release as we continue to improve & stabilize existing drivers.
Read More...
  • Page:

TOPIC: EQMOD questions

EQMOD questions 7 months 3 days ago #24134

I'm fairly new to AP and INDI as well with just a few questions...

How does PEC training in EQMOD work? I've tried to enable training but without any result. Also, will it help smooth out guiding? Guiding error is averaging 0.5" per night.

Also, is there a how-to for setting horizon limits correctly?

I'm using the Sky-Watcher EQ6-R Pro mount

Thanks for the help guys!
Alan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

EQMOD questions 7 months 3 days ago #24145

Have you checked the EQMod documentation ?

EDIT: Looks like Horizon management is not documented there. Well, hopefully someone who used this functionality can explain it in detail and I'll update the documentation accordingly.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info
Last Edit: by knro.

EQMOD questions 7 months 3 days ago #24151

Hi,

ElevatedG wrote: I'm fairly new to AP and INDI as well with just a few questions...

How does PEC training in EQMOD work? I've tried to enable training but without any result. Also, will it help smooth out guiding? Guiding error is averaging 0.5" per night.

PEC training works the same way as with the handcontroller. Guide on a star, engage PEC training and the firmware will wait for the mount pass the worm indexer and then records the resulting speeds in the EEPROM of the motor microcontroller. When it has finished (worm indexer) it toggles a status bit and you can see in the INDI Control panel the status of PEC training becoming green (whereas it remains busy/yellow while training). I've never tried myself however.