×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Using PEC and EQMod Mount

3 months 1 week ago
hy
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 62
More
Topic Author
Using PEC and EQMod Mount #39967
I noticed while guiding that I have significant periodic error with RA on my Orion Atlas Pro. I though, perhaps it made sense to try the periodic error correction feature--though I'm not experienced with it (perhaps I'm confused on how to use it). I did the following.

I started up Indi and Ekos, pointed at Dubhe and started (Phd2) guiding. I went to Indi Control Panel --> EQMod Mount and turned on RA PPEC Training. It went yellow for about 14 minutes and then said RA PPEC training completed, and the light turned off (went grey). I assumed this meant it was successful. I then stopped guiding, set up my target (M13), clicked on Indi Control Panel --> EQMod Mount --> Turn RA PPEC to "on". I then started guiding. At this point Indi (in the EQMod Tab log) said: "Turning RA PPEC off while guiding. Turn on RA PPEC after guiding."

So , I'm confused. Can I not use PPEC while guiding? I had hoped that was the point--to improve guiding, or rather make guiding easier, by removing the periodic error component. How should this be used?

Thanks,
Hy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
maxer
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 233
Karma: 1
More
Using PEC and EQMod Mount #39976
Hi,

The message you get is somewhat confusing but it means that you have to be guiding before starting PPEC, the thing is that PPEC can't be activated if the mount is not moving so I guess maybe the mount is not tracking when you activate PPEC.

Cs,
/Markku

EQ8, Small scope SW200, Big scope SW300, Xagyl FW, Guidescope Celestron 80mm, SX LodestarX2, SXVR-H9.
RPi3, Ubuntu Mate, and many Arduinos..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
hy
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 62
More
Topic Author
Using PEC and EQMod Mount #40048
Markku,

Just double checking: I am saying that (a) I started guiding, and (b) turned on PPEC RA training, and it ran for a 10-15 minutes, and then said it trained successfully.
Then, later, I turned on guiding again (mount is definitely tracking--I just double checked) and yet it will not let me turn on RA PPEC.

So, I could not turn it on though it was definitely moving/guiding.

Is it somehow possible that it didn't train the PEC successfully, even though it said it did when I turned on the training?

Thanks,
Hy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
maxer
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 233
Karma: 1
More
Using PEC and EQMod Mount #40061
Hi,

Sorry about that, I read "Turn RA PPEC to "on". I then started guiding"
Well, I'm not sure what's going on then, but a couple of times I had to klick multiple times to start RA PPEC playback, but you have probably done that too.
Right now we have summer up here and there is only 2 stars visible by naked eye but I can try anyway depending the weather, maybe something have changed during last month or so.
I would guess that if the training wouldn't be successful you would get a error message of some kind but that doesn't seem to be the case.

Cs
/Markku

EQ8, Small scope SW200, Big scope SW300, Xagyl FW, Guidescope Celestron 80mm, SX LodestarX2, SXVR-H9.
RPi3, Ubuntu Mate, and many Arduinos..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
maxer
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 233
Karma: 1
More
Using PEC and EQMod Mount #40141
I just ran a test and it seems working normally, it's cloudy so I just did a dry run.

2019-06-12T19:23:47: [INFO] Turning RA PPEC off.
2019-06-12T19:20:51: [INFO] Turning RA PPEC on.
2019-06-12T19:20:23: [INFO] Telescope slew is complete. Tracking TRACK_SIDEREAL...

So I don't know why it doesn't work for you ?

/Markku

EQ8, Small scope SW200, Big scope SW300, Xagyl FW, Guidescope Celestron 80mm, SX LodestarX2, SXVR-H9.
RPi3, Ubuntu Mate, and many Arduinos..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 1 week ago
hy
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 62
More
Topic Author
Using PEC and EQMod Mount #40142
Thanks for doing that Markku!

How did you train your PEC? With the top button in the indi eqmod pec tab?

I was just running with RA PEC? Did you have both RA and DEC? (As I recall, it didn't allow me to train DEC).

I'll try again the next free night.

Hy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 6 days ago
maxer
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 233
Karma: 1
More
Using PEC and EQMod Mount #40151
No problem at all.

First find a star to train against and tracking on, then start guiding and after a while when guiding have stabilized then press the RAPPEC training button and let it run until it is finished, and after that you can turn on RAPPEC.

Once I did try training in DEC but a EQ mount usually doesn't move in DEC so that can explain why it didn't work, also the gears have to go a full rotation and I don't know how long it takes to do that.

/Markku

EQ8, Small scope SW200, Big scope SW300, Xagyl FW, Guidescope Celestron 80mm, SX LodestarX2, SXVR-H9.
RPi3, Ubuntu Mate, and many Arduinos..

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.536 seconds