INDI Library v2.0.6 is Released (02 Feb 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Trouble connecting when running KStars on Mac

• Thank you received: 0
I'm relatively new to Stellarmate but thought I had it figured out. But I have the following problem. I can connect to SM from my Macbook Pro over my home wifi. No problem. I can browse to the SM interface, etc. I connect all of my equipment (ZWO 1600, Moonlight, filter wheel, SX Lodestar). When I run KStars on the SM everything seems fine. Indi starts, equipment connects.

But if I just change the profile to run local, and start KStars on my Mac, Indi server starts but none of the equipment will connect.

I thought I had this working before but I may have been confused about where I was running KStars. I've read that its much faster to fun on the laptop instead of on the Pi.

Any ideas?

Bob
5 years 1 month ago #35433

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 809
Did you plug the equipment into the Mac before you tried to connect to it locally instead of using the pi? The computer INDI is running on is where the equipment needs to be plugged in.
5 years 1 month ago #35434

The equipment is plugged into the Stellarmate. The Mac and the SM are both on the same wifi network. I'm running KStars on the Mac. From watching the videos on youtube I thought this should work. Why would I connect the equipment to the Mac? The idea is to have the Mac inside with me and the SM outside on the scope and the equipment.
5 years 1 month ago #35435

Right, then in that case you should be running INDI on the stellar mate and connecting to it remotely from the Mac.