INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Recommendations for Speckle CCD Driver?

• Thank you received: 0
Hi team, I have a need for a CCD driver which can capture a bunch of short exposures quickly -- about 1000 exposures of 10-60ms each. All of them should be put into a single rather large FITS file (often called a "cube") stored on the machine running the client. The application is speckle interferometry, in which we'll be processing the thousand or so images together to mitigate the effects of seeing. We'll probably need drivers for several types of cameras eventually, but getting one running will be a great first step. Also, the long-term plan is to run the process in a fully automated observatory, so interactive planetary imaging programs are great for testing but we need to move beyond them in the long run.

I'm just learning to work with INDI driver code. I believe the following to be true but am not entirely sure:
  • The driver should capture multiple images in a sequence, rather than having the client capture many individual images, because the time required to initiate each image capture is too long (having a delay between images on the order of one second would be a serious problem when we're capturing a thousand or so).
  • It should be possible to write a subclass of a camera driver which adds rapid multiple image capture and puts the resulting image data into a large memory buffer for transmission as a single BLOB.
  • This will probably require the creation of a custom client, but that's OK because we'll want one anyway.
  • Adding contextual data to the FITS header (time, GPS, celestial coordinates) is most easily done in the client, which will be communicating with a GPS receiver, the telescope mount, and probably a plate solver.

Can anyone correct these impressions or offer suggestions about the best way to proceed?

Thanks in advance
8 years 4 months ago #6172