INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Guiding calibration failures

• Thank you received: 11
I am just learning about auto-guiding. Last night I was getting messages like:

2023-04-06T20:34:41 Guide DEC: Scope cannot reach the start point after 21 iterations.
Possible mount or backlash problems...
2023-04-06T20:33:20 DEC drifting reverse...
2023-04-06T20:33:01 DEC drifting forward...
2023-04-06T20:32:45 DEC backlash...
2023-04-06T20:32:32 RA drifting reverse...
2023-04-06T20:32:20 RA drifting forward...
2023-04-06T20:32:20 Calibration started.
2023-04-06T20:32:20 Auto star selected.

I found that I needed to increase the Calibration Pulse to 2000 to get calibration to consistently work. I feel this is higher than most people/mounts need. I don't think I have a large backlash problem in Dec. I feel only minuscule movement (if any) when wobbling the Dec axis by hand.

It looks like the RA drifting takes around 12 second for each direction. The Dec forward take at least twice that long and the reverse even longer (when it finishes correctly). What does this indicate? What is normal?

I also have no idea what is going on during these "drifting forward" or "drifting backward" periods. What is the mount actually doing here?

Thanks,
Bill
1 year 3 weeks ago #91776

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 566
Bill,

Where are you pointed when you are calibrating? If it's near the pole, then that's the issue. Guiding, and certainly calibraton, doesn't work well near the poles.