INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Need help setting up a development environment on macOS

• Thank you received: 16
I've been writing code since 1971. But I've used IDE's for decades and don't know Unix or scripting. And I'm maybe a bit old to start an extensive new learning curve.

I want to add new devices to INDI, principally for my own purposes, but this will extend to other users because some of my devices are in widespread use but not available as INDI devices.

So I really want to establish a development environment on my local machine. And I need help.

I'm using macOS. I have used Rob Lancaster's package kstars-on-osx-craft, but cannot get it to build. My "native" machines are both using Apple Silicon (i.e. ARM) but I have given up trying with them. I also have a few Intel Macs available, and have installed the latest macOS, Sonoma, on one of them for the purpose of installing a development environment.

But I'm still having problems. If I stick to the vanilla script I run into the problem that some packages (specifically KTextTemplate, StatusNotifierItem and KColorScheme) are, apparently, not available under Qt5 (why Qt5 is allowed under the craft setup but is not then compatible beats me).

If I choose Qt6 in setting up craft I get precisely the same error, because somehow, despite choosing Qt6, the nested scripts (or other instructions) manage to switch back to Qt5.

I've changed every instance I can find of Qt5 to Qt6, but still it ends up the same way.

Rob Lancaster (and others) did an excellent job in bringing this system to Macs, but now it needs a revisit. For Intel-only would be OK, but frankly, as the future of Mac is ARM (or Apple Silicon as they call it), that would be even better.

Please, could somebody, please, create a foolproof macOS recipe which would allow an old coder/codger to contribute to this community?

Thanks,
Richard
3 months 4 days ago #98437