INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Joystick instegration and usability

• Thank you received: 1
Hi every one. I'm a programmer and i would like to improve the joystick indi integration.

I'have a joystick and a DeepSkyDad AF3 focuer. I would like to add more shortcuts to the driver to change focuser speed.

I was looking at the github.com/DeepSkyDad/indi but I think I'm a little confused because I don't found the Indi control panel.

Could someone give me some guidance.

If I get success I would like to keep working in the joystick improvement, because in the field and when is cold I think is a great inferface.

Thanks.
Last edit: 5 months 2 days ago by Jose Maria.
5 months 2 days ago #97344

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 5
Hi Jose,
I think this is an excellent idea. I have the same focuser and would also like to be better able to control it via the joystick when I do visual observation with my scope.
I am not really familiar with coding, but my understanding is that you have to work your way through the indi structure, i.e. many functions are defined in the parent classes i.e. you have to look e.g. into the "indifocuser.h" file. I also have not yet understood, where the joystick support within the focuser driver is being defined. The general joystick functions themselves are defined in the "joystick.h" and "joystick.cpp" files, which you find under indi/drivers/auxilliary. Hope that helps a bit.
I feel it would be great, if you could use the thumbstick to adjust focus. That way you could use the analog values to make the focuser go slow or fast depending of how much you press.
Here is a link to a project to build a stand-alone controller to achieve just that:
www.cloudynights.com/topic/806066-homebr...-for-aux-port/page-4
1 month 2 weeks ago #99578

• Thank you received: 28
"I'm a little confused because I don't found the Indi control panel."