INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Ekos and inconsistent mount operation (AM3)

• Thank you received: 0
I'm new to Kstars and Ekos. I've run a few sessions over the past few weeks with varying degrees of success. However, after yet another night of frustratingly inconsistent behavior between Kstars/Ekos and the ZWO AM3 mount I wanted to see if I was missing something.

The mount and camera (Nikon dslr) seem to connect ok initially. However, the mount doesn't always respond to commands and I don't know why. Sometimes it will do nothing. Often, it will beep in response to park and unpark commands, but then won't slew to a target selected in Kstars or Ekos. The console notes to unpark the mount before sending commands. Sometimes it is true that I didn't unpark it, but other times it says it is unparked yet won't move. If I click "disconnect" in the Ekos 1st tab and then reconnect, sometimes it fixes the problem. Polar alignment sometimes won't slew after the first photo.

Tonight I successfully ran the polar alignment routine, but then the mount wouldn't slew to any target. I tried various combinations of disconnect/reconnect, stopping and starting the INDI driver, and even restarted Kstars. I eventually got it on target only for it to stop responding again. Then when I did get that sorted, it appeared that kstars forgot what it was pointing at and tried to run the telescope into the mount like a pretzel. I had to shut it off to keep it from damaging itself.

Is there a way to set limits in Kstars to keep the telescope from hitting the mount? If so, is there a tutorial somewhere? Honestly, it is aggravating that the mount isn't smart enough to avoid that situation in the first place.

What is up with the inconsistent mount control? Am I missing a step or a setting or something?

What is the effect of disconnecting and reconnecting the mount with and without restarting the INDI server?