INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Is Ekos blocking other clients?

• Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone,
I'm pretty new to INDI, but i immediately fell in love with all the possibility it opens!

So, I started testing this technology in my association's observatory in Italy... for us is very important to make INDI server talk with some home-made pieces of software controlling some custom systems.

I'm aware that this could lead to some troubles, and indeed I'm opening my first topic because of a strange behaviour I'm experiencing...

Everything was going really well, when I made the first tests, and I was able to set a property from a third party client and see the devices' properties changing in my application's terminal... Then, when I switched on Ekos I became unable to read anything from INDI server all the time Ekos was running.
I'm using the xml communication protocol on a tcp socket as described in www.clearskyinstitute.com/INDI/INDI.pdf

So, does actually Ekos blocks other clients from getting properties from server? Or maybe I have to search the problem somewhere else? In the first case, does anyone know a workaround?

Thank you all!

Andrea
5 years 5 months ago #31937

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 301
Normally, the server provides a new port for each client, and propagates information to all. Problems appear when several clients try to request actions. But for instance, PHD2 will listen to mount moves to automatically suspend guiding. You probably need to clarify your test setup.

-Eric
The following user(s) said Thank You: Andrea Soffiantini
5 years 5 months ago #31970

Hello Eric, thanks for your reply!

this is the behaviour I'm experiencing while using Kstars or Pixinsight but, as I said, the problems begin when I start Ekos...