×
INDI Library v1.8.7 Released (21 Nov 2020)

Nov. 2020 Release brings significant improvements to streaming and recording videos. Support for new drivers including Estatto focuser and Pegasus falcon rotator.

KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows

3 weeks 6 days ago
maxthebuilder
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 412
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62244
It's so many options now. Overwhelming. I hope it's going to simplify eventually.

Max S.

RPI 4 B (4Gb) with SMate
Nikon D5500 H-a modified. Nikon D5500 stock
AT72EDII, TPO RC6
ZWO ASI294MC Pro, ASI071MC Pro
ZWO ASI120MC-S on ZWO 30F4
ZWO EAF x 2
SW AZ-GTi x 2
SW HEQ5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago 3 weeks 6 days ago by maxthebuilder.
maxthebuilder
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 412
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62245
Now everything works except for astrometry.net at http://127.0.0.1:8080 (ansvr) which is OK as long as the other solvers works.

Max S.

RPI 4 B (4Gb) with SMate
Nikon D5500 H-a modified. Nikon D5500 stock
AT72EDII, TPO RC6
ZWO ASI294MC Pro, ASI071MC Pro
ZWO ASI120MC-S on ZWO 30F4
ZWO EAF x 2
SW AZ-GTi x 2
SW HEQ5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
maxthebuilder
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 412
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62246
here's my latest config


Max S.

RPI 4 B (4Gb) with SMate
Nikon D5500 H-a modified. Nikon D5500 stock
AT72EDII, TPO RC6
ZWO ASI294MC Pro, ASI071MC Pro
ZWO ASI120MC-S on ZWO 30F4
ZWO EAF x 2
SW AZ-GTi x 2
SW HEQ5
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
rlancaste
Supernova Explorer
Supernova Explorer
Posts: 2461
Karma: 24
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62249

maxthebuilder wrote: Now everything works except for astrometry.net at http://127.0.0.1:8080 (ansvr) which is OK as long as the other solvers works.


So the “local astrometry” option in the new version will run the ANSVR astrometry solve-field program and control its configuration directly, instead of relying on the external api web interface you were forced to use before. This appears to work much faster, gives you the same configuration options and downloading index capabilities that Mac and Linux users have had for years, and avoids the need to start, stop, configure, and run the web interface ANSVR provides.

I am not sure that you would want to access ANSVR using the traditional method now that you have the new method for using it. It should still work using “online” since it works just like the online solver, but I think the new way of using ANSVR should be better.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
rlancaste
Supernova Explorer
Supernova Explorer
Posts: 2461
Karma: 24
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62250

maxthebuilder wrote:


Were these the default values on windows for the external programs??

I need to look at that to make sure the defaults on Windows for the local solver are the ANSVR paths!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
Croz
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 44
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62253
I really like the star size that you’ve added with SEP auto focus routine. This has been a problem for me in the past. It was selecting noise and not real stars. This has been working with the simulator but hasn’t been tested underneath real conditions.

Solving has been working for me. I had to tinker with some of the settings as Max had done above. I was used to the remote option taking time. I have my indexes on the raspberry but use the Kstar Windows client. Should I be changing the ANSVR address to the IP address of the rpi? There are a ton of options under solving. Maybe too many! My only complaint is, solving is almost too fast! I’m used to waiting and building suspense! This is no fun at all!

Kevin

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 6 days ago
rlancaste
Supernova Explorer
Supernova Explorer
Posts: 2461
Karma: 24
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62254

Croz wrote: I really like the star size that you’ve added with SEP auto focus routine. This has been a problem for me in the past. It was selecting noise and not real stars. This has been working with the simulator but hasn’t been tested underneath real conditions.

Solving has been working for me. I had to tinker with some of the settings as Max had done above. I was used to the remote option taking time. I have my indexes on the raspberry but use the Kstar Windows client. Should I be changing the ANSVR address to the IP address of the rpi? There are a ton of options under solving. Maybe too many! My only complaint is, solving is almost too fast! I’m used to waiting and building suspense! This is no fun at all!

Kevin


So for the "ANSVR Address" I assume you mean the API URL? You can change this to the IP address of whatever computer you are running ANSVR on if you are using that. However, the new version can access the ANSVR solve-field executable directly just like it does on Linux and Mac computers. (You just have to select to use "local astrometry" instead of online. There is no longer any need to start up and use ANSVR as you did before. So you can ignore the "online" options entirely and just use the local astrometry option. It will be faster and easier to do.

Yes there are a lot of options, but it actually is no more options than were technically there before. Most of the options were previously in various different places on the computer, in config files, in KStars etc, so it was very hard to diagnose and fix any issues you had with plate solving. Basically I collected all the options in one spot. And yes I know it is an overwhelming amount of options. That is why I have wrapped all the options up into "profiles." The goal is that we can develop a great set of profiles that work for most people and you can just use the profile that works best for you and completely ignore all the various options because the profile "just works".

One reason the solving is much faster is because it isn't sending it over the network for a PI to solve and or sending it over a web API to ANSVR. Another reason it is faster is the usage of SEP instead of astrometry.net's system to extract the stars. Another reason is because I tried to tweak and optimize the options a bit. And finally, for blind solves it is MUCH faster because I have built into StellarSolver the ability to solve using astrometry.net in parallel on today's multi core machines and greatly speed up solving.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 5 days ago
maxthebuilder
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 412
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62272
Yes, those were defaults and they were wrong.. They would be correct for ansvr server

rlancaste wrote:

maxthebuilder wrote:


Were these the default values on windows for the external programs??

I need to look at that to make sure the defaults on Windows for the local solver are the ANSVR paths!


Max S.

RPI 4 B (4Gb) with SMate
Nikon D5500 H-a modified. Nikon D5500 stock
AT72EDII, TPO RC6
ZWO ASI294MC Pro, ASI071MC Pro
ZWO ASI120MC-S on ZWO 30F4
ZWO EAF x 2
SW AZ-GTi x 2
SW HEQ5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 5 days ago
maxthebuilder
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 412
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62273
No, I don't want to access ANSVR using the traditional method. I just wanted to check all available solvers and make sure they work and which one is better.
Actually, I made astrometry.net at http://127.0.0.1:8080 work by selecting the Remote radio-button.
I believe "Remote" used to funnel the request to the astrometry.net on the INDI server (RPI4 in my case) in previous versions. Now the request goes to ansvr.
Or I am confused again?
Thanks for your hard work!

rlancaste wrote:

maxthebuilder wrote: Now everything works except for astrometry.net at http://127.0.0.1:8080 (ansvr) which is OK as long as the other solvers works.


So the “local astrometry” option in the new version will run the ANSVR astrometry solve-field program and control its configuration directly, instead of relying on the external api web interface you were forced to use before. This appears to work much faster, gives you the same configuration options and downloading index capabilities that Mac and Linux users have had for years, and avoids the need to start, stop, configure, and run the web interface ANSVR provides.

I am not sure that you would want to access ANSVR using the traditional method now that you have the new method for using it. It should still work using “online” since it works just like the online solver, but I think the new way of using ANSVR should be better.


Max S.

RPI 4 B (4Gb) with SMate
Nikon D5500 H-a modified. Nikon D5500 stock
AT72EDII, TPO RC6
ZWO ASI294MC Pro, ASI071MC Pro
ZWO ASI120MC-S on ZWO 30F4
ZWO EAF x 2
SW AZ-GTi x 2
SW HEQ5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 5 days ago 3 weeks 5 days ago by TomAstro.
TomAstro
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 199
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62276
Hi all,

I found out that I can't remote into the box using hostname but only IP. Is this only happen in this beta version? I remember the previous version can. Please confirm..

Thanks

Skywatcher AZEQ5GT using EQMod
Pentax 100 SDUFII for the light
QHY168C mains with ASI120MC on guidescope
SX filter wheel
Robofocus focusers with DIY Moonlite compatible controller
RPI 4B, Stellarmate & Astroberry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 5 days ago
Croz
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 44
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62279
I've been trying to blind solve with pics I have taken, but have not been successful. I've tried to use some of the different options with no luck. I had thought that because my scope and camera give me a different FOV that by manually changing the setting for the simulator, it might work. But it did not help. I've also found that the FOV does not re-calculate and I did not note the pervious values before I entered them in manually. Now I've had issues trying to do regular solves with the simulators. So two questions... 1. what are the best settings to try and blind solve (I had saw somewhere that blind solve was not dependent on FOV?) and 2. How can the FOV be recalculated?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 weeks 5 days ago
Croz
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 44
More
KStars 3.5.0 Beta for Windows #62283
I found the update image scale option in the settings for align. It wouldn’t move the Settings over to the main align page. But I just manually move them over.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.581 seconds