×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

Resolving M20 with astrometry.net fails

4 months 3 days ago
sterne-jaeger
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 406
Karma: 5
More
Topic Author
Resolving M20 with astrometry.net fails #41890
Hi all,
I have a very strange problem using astrometry.net. When I am pointing to M20, the plate solver cannot find a match. As soon as I slew on a different location - even slightly different - everything is fine.

My current solution: I use the online plate solving for M20 and the local one for everything else.

Any idea?

- Wolfgang

TSA-120 + FSQ-85 + GSO 150/750 | Avalon Linear + M-zero | Moravian G2-8300 + ASI 1600mm pro + ASI 294mc pro | KStars/INDI on Raspberry Pi 4 with Raspbian 10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 day ago
TallFurryMan
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 737
Karma: 13
More
Resolving M20 with astrometry.net fails #41949
I'd say it happens. More and more often I use a different, "easier", field of view than the object I want to capture. For example, when capturing NGC6888, I may run the plate solver and the focuser on the Sadr area only. That field allows faster preliminary operation before shifting to the actual target. In my specific case, it helps when I capture in Ha without motorized filter wheel, although the scheduler script is slightly more complex.

-Eric

HEQ5-Pro - Atik 314E - Orion ED80T - DMK21 on Orion 50mm
DIY 3D-printed Moonlite and FWheel RGB/LPR
KStars and indiserver on two Atom 1.6GHz 1GB RAM Linux, VPN remote access

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 1 day ago
DerPit
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 276
Karma: 1
More
Resolving M20 with astrometry.net fails #41950
Probably depends on the FOV. I had it fail on M13 when I tried solving the full field without using the field flattener. Center subfield worked.
With my setup of astrometry.net (0.78) it does solve M20, even the non-flat version. My (full) FOV is 130x100 arcmin.

openSUSE Tumbleweed KStars git INDI git
GPDX+EQMOD, CEM60EC, ASI1600+EFW+ASI290 mini

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 15 hours ago
Capt Buscemi
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 16
More
Resolving M20 with astrometry.net fails #41991
Hello! I've just arrived here after using Sequence Generator Pro for most of the last year.

For what it's worth, SGP has a known issue plate solving M20 as well, it's been reported on their forums too. Very weird, it's not like it's one of these crazy-osbscure DSOs...
The following user(s) said Thank You TallFurryMan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 months 14 hours ago
DerPit
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 276
Karma: 1
More
Resolving M20 with astrometry.net fails #41994
Had tried it again yesterday, with a 'live solve' case. Pointed to M 20 in KStars and then had EKOS solve:
[2019-08-12T22:11:13.702 WEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Capturing image..."
[2019-08-12T22:11:17.819 WEST INFO ][           org.kde.kstars.fits] - Loading FITS file  "/tmp/fitsLYuMwD.fits"
[2019-08-12T22:11:17.830 WEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Image received."
[2019-08-12T22:11:17.839 WEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Starting solver..."
[2019-08-12T22:11:19.623 WEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Solver completed in 2 seconds."
[2019-08-12T22:11:19.629 WEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Solution coordinates: RA (18h 04m 04s) DEC (-22° 59' 47\") Telescope Coordinates: RA (18h 03m 51s) DEC (-22° 58' 14\")"
[2019-08-12T22:11:19.633 WEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Syncing to RA (18h 04m 04s) DEC (-22° 59' 47\")"
[2019-08-12T22:11:19.813 WEST INFO ][     org.kde.kstars.ekos.align] - "Mount is synced to solution coordinates. Astrometric solver is successful."

openSUSE Tumbleweed KStars git INDI git
GPDX+EQMOD, CEM60EC, ASI1600+EFW+ASI290 mini

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

3 months 4 weeks ago
sterne-jaeger
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 406
Karma: 5
More
Topic Author
Resolving M20 with astrometry.net fails #42083
I did a test with the Tycho2 catalog instead of the 2Mass catalog and got a resolution after 2 secs on my MacBook, while the 2Mass catalog took more than 70 secs. I did not check it on my Raspberry, but maybe that is the solution to this case.

Which catalogs do you use for astrometry.net?

- Wolfgang

TSA-120 + FSQ-85 + GSO 150/750 | Avalon Linear + M-zero | Moravian G2-8300 + ASI 1600mm pro + ASI 294mc pro | KStars/INDI on Raspberry Pi 4 with Raspbian 10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.334 seconds